AAS 200: Intro to African-American Studies: Primary Sources

Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Four primary source collections on gender and sexuality, LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, and policy studies.

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Content from 1898 - 1996.

Contains over 1000 published non-fiction works, including many primary sources, by influential African Americans (e.g., Malcolm X, James Baldwin, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Angela Davis) in addition to Black authors of various nationalities. In addition to the complete non-fiction works includes "interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material." Covers documents written from 1700 through 2006.

Seventeen primary source collections documenting 20th century far-right and left political groups in the US, Europe and Australia.

Includes law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, trials, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register and more.

Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. Content from 1909 - 1972.

A comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch; includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.