Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Articles in Databases
Databases contain information about articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Below are some databases that concentrate on literature and the humanities. When searching them and combining terms, you should use the word AND.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of writers from every age and literary discipline; designed for undergraduate and high school students.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Publications covering the humanities. Includes scholarly journals and specialized magazines. Content from 1980 - present.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of books and articles on modern languages and literature, linguistics, folklore, film, and other related topics. Content from 1926 - present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
Lists of monographs, periodical articles, literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and dissertations. Content from 1892 - present.
Database Searching Tips
Use AND, OR, NOT to combine terms
poland and music
Use truncation to find multiple word endings
map* [finds map, maps, mapping]
Use quotation marks to search for phrases
Choose the Help option in databases for additional search tips.
Locate the Full Text of Journal Articles
If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:
1. Choose to check for full text in other library databases.
2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.
3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.