Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rhetorics of Motherhood Becoming a mother profoundly alters one's perception of the world, as Lindal Buchanan learned firsthand when she gave birth. Suddenly attentive to representations of mothers and mothering in advertisements, fiction, film, art, education, and politics, she became intrigued by the persuasive force of the concept of motherhood, an interest that unleashed a host of questions: How is the construct defined? How are maternal appeals crafted, presented, and performed? What do they communicate about gender and power? How do they affect women? Her quest for answers has produced Rhetorics of Motherhood, the first book-length consideration of the topic through a feminist rhetorical lens. Although both male and female rhetors employ motherhood to promote themselves and their agendas, Buchanan argues it is particularly slippery terrain for women--on the one hand, affording them authority and credibility but, on the other, positioning them disadvantageously within the gendered status quo. Rhetorics of Motherhood investigates that paradox by detailing the cultural construction and performance of the Mother in American public discourse, tracing its use and impact in three case studies, and by theorizing how, when, and why maternal discourses work to women's benefit or detriment. In the process, the reader encounters a fascinating array of issues--including birth control, civil rights, and abortion--and rhetors, ranging from Diane Nash and Margaret Sanger to Sarah Palin and Michelle Obama. As Buchanan makes clear, motherhood is a rich site for investigating the interrelationships among gender, power, and public discourse. Her latest book contributes to the discipline of rhetoric by attending to and making a convincing case for the significance of this understudied subject. With its examination of timely controversies, contemporary and historical figures, and powerful women, Rhetorics of Motherhood will appeal to a wide array of readers in rhetoric, communications, American studies, women's studies, and beyond.
Call Number: P120.W66 B83 2013
Locating Full Text
If you don't see the full text of an article in the database you are searching, use these steps to find a copy of the article:
1. Choose to check for full text in other library databases.
2. Search the Catalog to identify the call number and location (usually second floor) of the journal.
3. Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Search to find books, DVDs, some articles, and other material at UAB Libraries.
Select "Library Catalog" from the drop-down box to search only for books.
Below are some databases that concentrate on literature, languages, rhetoric, and the humanities.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Bibliography of books and articles on modern languages and literatures, linguistics, folklore, film, and other related topics. 1926 - present.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of writers from every age and literary discipline; designed for undergraduate and high school students.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Lists of monographs, periodical articles, literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and dissertations.
1892 - present.
Humanities Full Text
Publications covering the humanities. Includes scholarly journals and specialized magazines.
1980 - present.
Database Search Tips
- Use AND, OR, NOT to combine terms
poland and music
- Use truncation to find multiple word endings
map* [finds map, maps, mapping]
- Use quotation marks to search for phrases
Head of Mervyn H. Sterne Library Department of Research and Learning; Liaison to English Language and Literature