Health Statistics:
Statistical Resources

Provides access to statistics from more than 100 agencies

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

Collects clinical information, research findings, funding opportunities, data and surveys, data on specific populations, consumers & patients, and on patient safety.

Information includes demographics, veterans, mortality, health conditions, expenditures and more.

Definitive source for aggregate hospital data and trend analysis.

BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that generate information about health risk behaviors, clinical preventative practices; and health care access and use, primarily related to chronic diseases and injury.

Data and Statistics by topic.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.

Interactive tool for hospital statistics. A free, online query system based on HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project) data - provides access to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and state level.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, HHS site that makes data from HHS agencies, including CMS, CDC, FDA and NIH, easily available and accessible to the public and innovators.

The Federal Health Program for American Indians and Alaska Natives

University of Minnesota, Minnesota Population Center. The IHIS project, funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), provides access to 49 years of data from the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)

A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major healthcare issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health.

MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health care and health insurance coverage.

NCHS is the nation's principal health statistics agency.

Scientific study of functioning in later life. Information collected from Medicare beneficiaries. Study conducted by Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health

Data on births, deaths, marriages,divorces, and fetal deaths.

Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center and provides access to maternal and infant health data for the U.S. and by state and region.

Project Tycho is a project at the University of Pittsburgh to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making.

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Research, data and reports from the CDC

Dataset associated with critical care patients

Datasets containing enacted legislation for all fifty states from 1995-2015

Health data tools and statistics

National Library of Medicine Datasites

NIH/National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology

The Measure DHS Project provides technical assistance to more than 240 surveys in over 85 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries.

The GHO repository provides access to over 50 data-sets on priority health topics.

Global Burden of Disease

Search multiple U.N. databases for health and social indicators.

Unicef statistics and monitoring.