Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Start: Country/Culture Overviews
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
E-HRAF World Cultures
Covers all aspects of culture and social life (economy, history and cultural relations, family and kinship, sociopolitical organization, and religion).
- Choose Browse CULTURES from the database homepage
- Choose the by Country tab to choose your country and view related cultures.
Print Reference Books
Use these reference books to find introductions to various countries.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: GN 307 .E53 1991 (1st floor)
The Oxford History of World Cinema
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 .O96 1996 (1st floor)
Atlas of World Art
Call Number: G1046.E1 O9 2004 (1st floor)
Country/Culture Information on the Open Web
The websites below were written by experts in the field and are authoritative sources.
Be cautious when using any websites besides these.
These resources will give you information on languages spoken throughout the US or world.
Maps locations and numbers of speakers of twelve languages commonly spoken in the United States. In the map, you can narrow the speakers by language.
This catalog provides access to information about thousands of languages
E- Reference Books
Gale Virtual Reference Library
BEST BET. Search for your country to find (almost) all the information you'll need. Search for your country and topic (ex: Spain cuisine).
Oxford Reference Reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others.
Britannica Academic The complete encyclopaedia and Book of the Year. Also contains a dictionary and an Internet directory.