Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) 5MinuteClinicalConsult
Delivers answers to questions for professionals in family medicine and patient care relating to diagnosis, treatment and management of diseases.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) American Chemical Society Guide to Scholarly Communication
Online version of the American Chemical Society Style Guide.
Africa and the New Imperialism This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Africa & the New Imperialism
Documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
New
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
archives.design This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) archives design
A digital archive of graphic design related items that are available on the Internet Archives.
Broadcasting America This link opens in a new window
New
This resource enables research into the development of mass broadcasting through the papers of pioneer David Sarnoff. The bulk of the material spans the 1920s to the 1970s, representing the decades of David Sarnoff’s career at RCA. Some additional content covers pre-1920s broadcasting developments, and the final years of RCA before its sale in 1986.
CAB Direct This link opens in a new window
New
A source of reference in the applied life sciences, incorporating the bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health.
Catalogues Raisonnés This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) International Foundation for Art Research Catalogues Raisonnés
Contains scholarly compilations of an artist's body of work.
Children's Literature and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
Collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Showcases innovative publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
New
Inclues clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.

Registration for a personal account is required.
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
New
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Ditki This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s) TDS Health Ditki; Draw It To Know It
Medical and biological sciences resource that teaches students to learn medical sciences in a kinesthetic way with a series of online, interactive tutorials on such topics as Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Neuroanatomy, Neuroscience and Physiology, etc. Also contains clinical lectures, summaries, radiographs, photographs, and board-style question banks for USMLE/COMLEX Steps 1-3.

Choose "login" at the top right corner of the website to register. Search for "UAB School of Medicine" in the institution finder while creating a new account. Verify email then get full access.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
New
Clinical decision support solution that provides evidence-based information to healthcare professionals at the point of care.
DynaMed Decisions This link opens in a new window
New
Clinical decision support solution designed to enhance clinical decision-making by offering evidence-based tools that allow providers to deliver effective patient-centered and personalized care.
New
Includes sources for examining the experience of people who lived in Early Modern England. From 'ordinary' people through to more prominent individuals and families, these documents show how everyday working, family, religious and administrative life was experienced across England.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
New
Offers access to a collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond. Content from 1599 - 1947.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
New
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
New
From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
New
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
New
Alternate Name(s) IBHR
International reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. The core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies.
Interwar Culture This link opens in a new window
New
Comprises both prominent and lesser-known periodicals published throughout the interwar period, covering various facets of culture, entertainment, fashion, home and family life, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
New
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Life at Sea This link opens in a new window
New
Life at Sea explores the lives of seafarers in the Anglo-American maritime world during the period 1600-1900. The emphasis of the resource is largely on narrative content, giving accounts of life onboard a variety of ocean-going vessels, including merchant and naval vessels, whalers, and pirate ships.
Lippincott Medical Procedures This link opens in a new window
New
Comprehensive resident and trainee solution with multimedia modules on how to perform core procedures safely. Videos depict guidance on instruments and equipment, multimedia images and illustrations, “pearls and pitfalls,” and indications and contraindications.

For access, either log in as an anonymous user or create an account using UAB credentials.
New
Rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Mass Observation Project, 1981 - 2009 This link opens in a new window
New
Consists of all the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation and the responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers. Broad themes covered include current events, friends and family, the home, leisure, politics, society, culture and the media, work, finance and the economy and new technology.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
New
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
New
Comprehensive information covering the field of behavioral health, with detailed and critical information for not only those challenged with a mental disorder, their family and support network, but also for paraprofessionals and professionals in the field.
New York Academy of Sciences, The This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Wiley Digital Archives: The New York Academy of Sciences
The New York Academy of Sciences (originally the Lyceum of Natural History) was founded in January 1817 as the Lyceum of Natural History. The Academy brings together great minds from across the diverse field of sciences with a mission to advance scientific research and knowledge, support scientific literacy, and promote science-based solutions to global challenges.
New
A collection from the John Murray Archive that showcases nineteenth century culture and the literary lumaries who shaped it. Content ranges from business and finance, literature and poetry, politics and religion, sciences, and travelling.
Optica This link opens in a new window
New
Full-text access to optics and photonics journals published by the Optical Society of America.
Pivot-RP This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Pivot
A database of external funding opportunities for research, education, and other sponsored activities. Users may create personal profiles to optimize search results and set automatic reminders for funding opportunities and conferences.
New
Discover what life was like for the poorest communities in Victorian Britain, and explore the government policy, social reform movements and philanthropic efforts of charitable institutions that sought to alleviate poverty.
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s) APA PsycTests
Find and download instruments for research and/or teaching. Focused primarily on unpublished tests, this database was designed to save your researchers time from having to reproduce tests when conducting research on previously measured constructs.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
New
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall.
New
Go-to resource for the disability community as well as educators and health professionals. Information for the guide has been carefully researched and contains subject-specific sections such as Arts & Entertainment to Vocational & Employment Programs, Rehabilitation Facilities, Disability-Specific Sections, and Aging to Visual.
New
Go-to resource for the disability community as well as educators and health professionals. Information for the guide has been carefully researched and contains subject-specific sections such as Arts & Entertainment to Vocational & Employment Programs, Rehabilitation Facilities, Disability-Specific Sections, and Aging to Visual.
Royal College of Physicians, The This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Wiley Digital Archives: The Royal College of Physicians
Archive records produced by the RCP as well as manuscripts and papers collected by RCP members on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics. Manuscripts and papers date back to the 14th century to the 19th century. Personal papers of past fellows from the 16th century to the 20th century are also included.
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives This link opens in a new window
New
Provides a comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre.
Service Newspapers of World War II This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Service Newspapers of World War Two
Newspapers from World War II that brough information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. There are over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in WWII.
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
New
Explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. Documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
New
Collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
The First World War This link opens in a new window
New
Primary sources for the study of the First World War. Includes personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
New
Collection of resources that traces the period after the Civil War in America that became known as the Gilded Age, all the way through to the Progressive Era from 1890's to the 1920's. Content ranges from mid-1800's to 1920's.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
New
Primary source documents that showcases domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850 - 1950.
Victorians on Film This link opens in a new window
New
Contains the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ι Contact Us ι Disclaimer