Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BY 429/491/629: Evolution: Find Sources

Get Help

Schedule an appointment to get help from a librarian with researching a topic, citing your sources, or using a citation manager.

Get Sources

Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.

Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.

Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.

Find Sources

Databases are tools for searching the scientific literature.  (search tips)

Recommended databases for biology (full list):

Collection of databases which includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering scholarly literature in the sciences from 1990 to the present.

Database covering scholarly literature in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences from 1960 to the present.

Database covering scholarly literature in the biomedical sciences from 1950 to the present.

 

Databases may be filtered by subject area using the drop down menu.

Google Scholar is a tool for searching scholarly literature available on the web.

Google Scholar Logo

 

Follow the steps below to customize Google Scholar.

  • Click on the options menu and select settings

  • Under bibliography manager, select the option for Show links to import citations into then choose EndNote

  • Click on library links then search for UAB Libraries, check the box next to Find it @ UAB, and save the settings

Publisher packages are tools for searching the literature by a single publisher.

Recommended publisher packages for biology:

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Elsevier

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Springer

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Wiley


Recommended aggregated packages for biology:

Content platform covering journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences from multiple publishers.

Content platform covering back issues of journals in the sciences from multiple publishers.

OneSearch is a tool for searching multiple library resources using one interface.  (help guide)

 

 

WorldCat is a tool for searching library catalogs around the world.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
 
WorldCat.org >>


Items not held by the UAB Libraries may be requested from other libraries by clicking on the interlibrary loan button.

Video Tutorials

View the tutorial below for help with searching the Web of Science database.

View the tutorial below for help with searching the Scopus database.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer