Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BY 429/491/629: Evolution: Manage Sources

Citation Managers

Citation managers are software programs designed to help users collect, organize, format, and share references.

Video Tutorials

Video tutorials are available to help with learning EndNote.

Get Help

Schedule an appointment to get help from a librarian with researching a topic, citing your sources, or using a citation manager.

EndNote

Download Software from UAB Academic Software Center

EndNote is available for free to UAB students through a site license.  The newest version is EndNote 20 which was released in late 2020.


Follow the instructions below to create a new library.

1.  Click on the Create a New Library button in the set up box or go to File > New.

OR

2.  Save the library on the hard drive of the computer.

3.  Confirm the creation of the library.

 

General Safety Notes from Clarivate Analytics

  • EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .data folder.  These two parts must be kept together as both are needed for the library to work correctly.

  • EndNote libraries should be kept on your computer's hard drive.  Storing and editing libraries on a portable (usb / flash / thumb) or network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.

  • EndNote libraries should never be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, SugarSync, etc.  Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time.  (see safety note for MacOS versions 10.12 [Sierra], 10.13 [High Sierra], and 10.14 [Mojave]) 

Do not store EndNote libraries in iCloud or any other cloud-syncing folder and do not store EndNote libraries in the Documents folder if you have selected the option to synchronize documents in iCloud.

Follow the steps below to export references from Scopus:

  • Check the box next to each item to be exported (#1).
  • Click on export (#2).

  • Select RIS format for EndNote (#3) then choose any additional information (#4).
  • Click on the export button (#5).

  • In EndNote, find the references in the imported group (#7).

 

Follow the steps below to export references from Web of Science:

  • Check the box next to each item to be exported (#1).
  • Click on export (#2) and select EndNote desktop or RIS (#3).

  • Specify the records to export (#4) then click on the export button (#5).

  • In EndNote, find the references in the imported group (#7).

 

Follow the steps below to export references from PubMed:

  • Check the box next to each item to be exported (#1).
  • Click on send to (#2) and select citation manager (#3).

  • Specify the records to export (#4) then click on the create file button (#5).

  • In EndNote, find the references in the imported group (#7).

Follow the steps below to customize EndNote to find full text available through the UAB Libraries.

  • Display the edit menu (Windows) or the EndNote 20 menu (Mac) then select preferences (#1).

  • On the left side of the EndNote preferences box, click on Find Full Text (#2)
  • Make sure all four of the boxes are checked (#3).
  • In the OpenURL Path field insert (#4):

https://uab.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01UALB/UAB_Libraries?

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for all users.

  • In the Authenticate with (URL) field insert (#4):

https://login.ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=

This setting allows access to full text available through the UAB Libraries for off-campus users.

  • Click on the OK button (#5).

 

Follow the steps below to find full text for references in the EndNote library.

  • Select the references to search for full text (#1) then click on the find full text button in the toolbar (#2).

  • If an authenticate with URL was added to the preferences, enter BlazerID and password and click on the login button (#3).

Click on the continue button below the database menu (#4).

  • Check the status of the full text search in the groups pane (#5).

  • Find the results in the find full text groups.  If a match was found then a PDF file is attached to the reference (#6).

References may be organized using groups and groups may be organized using group sets.

Group sets are heading above custom, smart, and combination groups.

Custom groups contain references added by dragging them and are manually updated.

Smart groups add references based on search criteria and are automatically updated.

Combination groups combine references from other groups and are automatically updated.

Follow the steps below to create groups and group sets:

  • Display the groups menu and select create (group, smart group, from groups, or group set).

  • Select the references in the center pane and drag and drop onto the group name in the left pane.

Follow the steps below to generate a bibliography:

  • Select the output style using the menu in the bottom right corner (#1).

  • Select the references after sorting them into alphabetical order by first author (#2).

  • Display the references menu and select copy formatted reference (#3).

  • Paste the formatted references into the application (#4).

Follow the steps below to cite while you write in Microsoft Word:

  • Click on the EndNote toolbar (#1) then click on the arrow in the style menu and select another style (#2).

  • Select the style then click on the OK button (#3).

  • Place the cursor in the location where the in-text citation should appear in the document (#4).
  • Click on the top half of the insert citation button (#5).

  • Enter terms to match the reference in the search box and click on the find button (#6).

  • Select the reference and click on the insert button (#7).

  • Check the citation and reference for any errors that need to be edited (#8).

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer