Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BY 495: UABTeach Research Methods: Find Sources

Get Sources

Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.

Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.

Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.

Identify Source Types

Scientific literature consists of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.

Primary sources present original research by those who carried it out.  Examples include research articles in scholarly journals, dissertations, and conference papers.  (example)

Secondary sources summarize, reinterpret, reanalyze, or discuss information from primary sources.  Examples include review articles in scholarly journals, magazine articles, and books.  (example)

Tertiary sources digest and condense information from primary and secondary sources.  Examples include reference works (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) and textbooks.  (example)


Peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals contain articles written by experts that are reviewed by other experts in the field for quality before publication.  All peer-reviewed journals are scholarly but not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.

Find Sources

OneSearch is a tool for searching multiple library resources using one interface.

 

 

Databases are tools for searching the literature (especially journal articles) by subject area.

Recommended databases for science (full list):

Selective database covering core journals in the applied sciences and technology

Selective database covering core journals in the general sciences

Comprehensive database covering journals, books, and conference proceedings in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences


Recommended databases for education (full list):

Comprehensive database covering journals in education

Comprehensive database covering journals, books, research reports, curriculum/teaching guides, conference papers, and dissertations in education

Comprehensive database covering journals, books, chapters, reports, and dissertations in psychology


Recommended databases for subject specialization:


Databases may be filtered by subject area using the drop down menu.

Publisher packages are tools for searching the literature by a single publisher.

Recommended publisher packages for science and education:

Content platform covering journals published by Sage

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Elsevier

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Springer

Content platform covering journals, books, and reference works published by Wiley


Recommended publisher packages for subject specialization:

Google Scholar is a tool for searching scholarly literature available on the web.

Google Scholar Logo

 

Follow the steps below to customize Google Scholar.

  • Click on the options menu and select settings

  • Under bibliography manager, select the option for Show links to import citations into then choose EndNote

  • Click on library links then search for UAB Libraries, check the box next to Find it @ UAB, and save the settings

WorldCat is a tool for searching library catalogs around the world.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
 
WorldCat.org >>


Items not held by the UAB Libraries may be requested from other libraries by clicking on the interlibrary loan button.

Locate Full Text

Starting with a citation and need help finding the full-text of the article?


Below are methods for searching the literature by citation.

  • OneSearch
  • Database
  • E-Journals
  • Google Scholar
  • DOI

Follow the instructions below to find full-text of article.

  • Plug article title into box then click on search button

  • Click on title to view record if there is matching result

  • Click on links under view it if full-text is available

Follow the instructions below to find full-text of article.

  • Plug article title into box then click on search button

  • Click on full-text PDF link or find it button if there is matching result

  • Click on links under view it if full-text is available

Follow the instructions below to find full-text of article.

  • Plug journal title into box then click on search button

  • Click on title to view record if there is matching result

  • Click on links under view it if full-text is available

  • Search within publication or browse issues to find article

Follow the instructions below to find full-text of article.

  • Plug article title into box then click on search button

  • Click on Find it @ UAB if there is matching result

Don't see library link for some results.  Click on expand icon and look for Get it @ UAB.

  • Click on links under view it if full-text is available

Follow the instructions below to find full-text of article.

  • Add prefixes to DOI for retrieval

UAB PREFIX = http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=
DOI PREFIX = http://dx.doi.org/
DOI = 10.1016/j.compedu.2018.09.013

  • Plug web address into browser

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2018.09.013


DOI (or Digital Object Identifier) is unique alphanumeric string assigned by registration agency to identify content and provide persistent link to its location.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer