Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPR 594: Introduction to Research: Reading with purpose

Like any activity, reading for research is something that must be learned and practiced.  Learning to do so, however, saves you time and effort. 

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Use time more efficiently, skim an article before you read it!
Click on the graphic below to help you get started (brought to you courtesy of North Carolina State University)

 

Don't reinvent the wheel

Encyclopedia of African American Education

The Encyclopedia of African American Education covers educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically black and predominantly black colleges and universities. Other entries cover individuals, organizations, associations, and publications that have had a significant impact on African American education. The Encyclopedia also presents information on public policy affecting the education of African Americans, including both court decisions and legislation. It includes a discussion of curriculum, concepts, theories, and alternative models of education, and addresses the topics of gender and sexual orientation, religion, and the media.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education in the United States is a two-volume work intended to be a comprehensive, first-stop reference work. It is tightly focused on the unique history, polemics, and the various forms bilingual education has taken in U.S. schools. It was written for use by non-specialists who wish to explore, in a comprehensive non-technical way, the intricacies of this subject from various angles: history, policy, classroom practice, designs and research bases. Readers may access information about the links between bilingual education and related subjects: linguistics, education equity issues, socio-cultural diversity, and the nature of demographic change in the United States.

Encyclopedia of Education

This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

Handbook of Urban Educational Leadership

This authoritative handbook examines the community, district, and teacher leadership roles that affect urban schools. It will serve as a foundation for pedagogical and educational leadership practices that foster social justice, equity, and advocacy for those who have been traditionally and historically underserved in education. The handbook's ten sections cover topics as diverse as curriculum, instruction, and educational outcomes; gender, race, and class; higher education; and leadership preparation and support. Its twenty-nine chapters offer both American and international perspectives.

Bad Boys

Statistics show that black males are disproportionately getting in trouble and being suspended from the nation's school systems. Based on three years of participant observation research at an elementary school, Bad Boys offers a richly textured account of daily interactions between teachers and students to understand this serious problem. Ann Arnett Ferguson demonstrates how a group of eleven- and twelve-year-old males are identified by school personnel as "bound for jail" and how the youth construct a sense of self under such adverse circumstances. The author focuses on the perspective and voices of pre-adolescent African American boys. How does it feel to be labeled "unsalvageable" by your teacher?

Academically Gifted African American Male College Students

The first-ever study of African American giftedness at the collegiate level, focusing on two extraordinary case studies. * Presents two separate case studies revealing how academically gifted African American males experienced different higher education contexts--the Historically Black College and University (HBCU) and Traditionally White Institution (TWI) * Includes interviews with both participants ten years after their college experiences * Offers six articles that provide a contemporary focus on issues impacting African American gifted males in school * Provides excerpts from journals, such as Gifted Child Today, Roeper Review, Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Race and Policy, and Journal for the Education of the Gifted

Going to School

In this ground-breaking book, noted scholars/educators respond to the persistent, pervasive and disproportionate underachievement of African-American students in public schools. In the process, they illustrate various aspects of the dilemma with a wide range of views and address the complexity of the topic by including a consideration of the factors that impact upon the academic achievement of African-American students. Lomotey considers the implications for research, policy and practice related to African-American academic achievement.

Encyclopedia of Education Law

Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010 The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: o key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews " Constitutional issues " Key concepts, theories, and legal principles " Key statutes " Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights) " Curricular issues " Educational equity " Governance " Rights of students and teachers " Technology " Biographies " Organizations.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer