Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are not the only options, but simply suggested places you might find helpful. Ask if you need additional assistance!
Databases provided by UAB Libraries
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing and abstracting of more than 690 journals in communication studies and closely-related disciplines, plus full text from over 300 journals.
1915 - present.
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals.
1983 - present.
Sports medicine, exercise physiology, physical education and fitness, recreation, history and psychology of sports.
STATISTICS, DATA, AND REPORTS
An archive of social science data for research and instruction.
NOTE: If you have trouble logging in to your ICPSR account, contact the Official Representative to ICPSR for UAB, Brooke Becker at email@example.com or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to authenticate your account.
See related Research Guide: ICPSR
Current Issues & Statistics
- Alabama State Department of Education Public Data Center – from the Alabama Department of Education. https://www.alsde.edu/dept/data/Pages/home.aspx
- National Education Association – Reports and Statistics. http://www.nea.org/home/ResearchReportsStatistics.html
- Education Week – K-12 education policy news. http://www.edweek.org
- Available as a full text electronic journal through a variety of databases (check the Electronic Journals List), and in print (2nd floor newspaper collection) and microfilm (L11 .E378 – 2nd floor)
- There is full text access to a limited number of articles on the website. You can register to receive free e-newsletters.
- On the Topics page, you can access the most recent news stories for each topic.
- Chronicle of Higher Education - Provides news reports and editorials on all facets of higher education in the United States, Canada, and abroad. http://chronicle.com
- Available as a full text electronic journal through a variety of databases (check the Electronic Journals List), and in print and microfilm (LA227.3 .C48).
- There is access to a limited number of articles on the website. You can set up an account to get free e-newsletters
Statistics and reports
US Census Bureau – National Survey of Children’s Health
Data.gov – Education – Data Catalog
U.S. Dept of Education – Institute of Education Sciences
- National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), 1994-2008 [Public Use] (ICPSR 21600)*
- National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) Parent Study: Public Use, [United States], 2015-2017 (ICPSR 37375)*
U.S. Department of Justice – Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
National Science Foundation:
Annie E. Casey Foundation – Kids Count Data Center
ICPSR (the following are examples of data sets):
US Department of Health and Human Services:
*also found in ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provided through www.library.uab.edu