Skip to main content

COVID-19 Special Access: Healthcare Resources

During COVID-19/Coronavirus, vendors and other information sources are making more of their content available. This guide pools those links together.

COVID-19 Resources Made Freely Available by Various Publishers, Organizations, etc.

The lists below are resources, collected by UAB librarians, which have been made freely available from numerous publishers, governmental organizations, and more.  Please

let us know if there is anything you feel we should add to the lists, or if you have any questions, by clicking here.

Image of Coronavirus from https://www.nature.com/collections/hajgidghjb

E-Books

Red Book Online --the American Academy of Pediatrics 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Infections content in Red Book Online https://redbook.solutions.aap.org/selfserve/ssPage.aspx?SelfServeContentId=rbo_outbreaks_page_3

 

University of Michigan Press--will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term.

Other (online tools, agencies, organizations, associations, etc.)

American Association of Pediatrics--Critical Updates on COVID-19 https://services.aap.org/en/pages/2019-novel-coronavirus-covid-19-infections/

American College of Physicians--Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19):
Information for Internists https://www.acponline.org/clinical-information/clinical-resources-products/coronavirus-disease-2019-covid-19-information-for-internists

American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)--ASCO has compiled a wide range of resources to support clinicians, the cancer care delivery team, and patients with cancer during the COVID-19 outbreak https://www.asco.org/asco-coronavirus-information

DynaMed--synthesized and compiled evidence regarding COVID-19 https://www.dynamed.com/condition/covid-19-novel-coronavirus

ECRI--resource center to help hospitals, ambulatory care, and aging care facilities protect healthcare workers, residents, and patients. https://www.ecri.org/coronavirus-covid-19-outbreak-preparedness-center

Geriatric Emergency Department Colective--COVID-19 information regarding emergency geriatric care https://gedcollaborative.com/article/covid-19-resources/

JoVe--free access to all JoVe peer reviewed scientific videos (must create free account with Jove) https://www.jove.com/

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide--frequently updated COVID-19 guide containing numerous types of content including microbiology, treatment,, and more https://www.hopkinsguides.com/hopkins/view/Johns_Hopkins_ABX_Guide/540747/all/Coronavirus_COVID_19__SARS_CoV_2_

Medical Library Association--COVID-19 Resources for Medical Librarians & Other Health Information Professionals https://www.mlanet.org/p/cm/ld/fid=1712&source=5

National Institutes of Health (NIH)--COVID-19 resources page https://www.nih.gov/health-information/coronavirus

Scitrus--Compiled journal articles and news stories regarding COVID-19 https://www.scitrus.com/special/novel%20coronavirus%20outbreak/

UptoDate--synthesized and compiled evidence regarding COVID-19 https://www.uptodate.com/contents/coronavirus-disease-2019-covid-19?search=coronavirus&topicRef=8298&source=see_link

 

Journal and Similar Literature

AccessMedicine--COVID-19 Central containing up to date content written by AccessMedicine healthcare personnel, researchers, etc.  https://www.accessmedicinenetwork.com/channels/2610

Annals of Internal Medicine--Content Related to Coronavirus in Annals of Internal Medicine  https://annals.org/aim/pages/coronavirus-content

British Medical Journal (BMJ) Coronavirus (covid-19): Latest news and resources--BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak from across the BMJ's journals and learning resources. https://www.bmj.com/coronavirus

Cambridge University Press COVID-19 Collection--free published material regarding COVID-19 https://www.cambridge.org/core/browse-subjects/medicine/coronavirus-free-access-collection

Cell Press Coronavirus Resource Hub--content about the outbreak as it appears in Cell Press journals https://www.cell.com/2019-nCOV

Centers for Diseases Control and Prevention (CDC) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Publications Page--A list of publications curated by the CDC https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/publications.html

Chest--Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Publications Page with additional resources as well https://www.chestnet.org/Guidelines-and-Resources/Resources/CHEST-Novel-Coronavirus-Resources

Cochrane Library--Coronavirus (COVID-19): infection control and prevention measures--immediate access to systematic reviews directly relevant to the prevention of COVID-19 infection. It includes reviews that are relevant to the WHO interim guidance and more https://www.cochranelibrary.com/collections/doi/SC000040/full

Coronaviruses - a new journal from Bentham Science. First issue will be published open access. https://benthamscience.com/journals/coronaviruses/

EBSCO COVID-19 information portal: https://covid-19.ebscomedical.com/

Elsevier is making all its research and data content on its COVID-19 Information Center available to PubMed Central, the archive of biomedical and lifescience at the US. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine, and other publicly funded repositories globally, such as the WHO COVID database, for as long as needed while the public health emergency is ongoing.https://www.elsevier.com/connect/coronavirus-information-center

Elsevier Medical & Nursing Education Resources: Short videos to supplement courses, promoting active learning. https://www.elsevier.com/education/health-faculty-hub

Emerging Infectious DIseases--COVID-19 information and more from this CDC owned journal https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/eid/

Eurosurveillance--journal on European infectious disease surveillance, epidemiology, prevention and control with COVID-19 content https://www.eurosurveillance.org/content/2019-ncov

iSearch COVID-19 portfolio - NIH’s comprehensive, curated source for publications related to COVID-19. https://icite.od.nih.gov/covid19/search/

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Resources Page--A collection of COVID-19 information provided by the JAMA Network https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/pages/coronavirus-alert

The Lancet COVID-19 Resource Centre--To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. https://www.thelancet.com/coronavirus

Lippincott Nursing Center --COVID-19 Resource Centre with a special focus on nursing concerns https://www.nursingcenter.com/coronavirus

LitCovid--A collection of articles regarding COVID-19 curated with the support of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/research/coronavirus/ 

Mary Ann Liebert Publishers all of their COVID-19 research content available for free https://home.liebertpub.com/lpages/-coronavirus-science-backed-research/250/

Nature--To support urgent research to combat the ongoing outbreak of COVID-19, caused by the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2, the editorial teams at Nature Research have curated a collection of relevant articles https://www.nature.com/collections/hajgidghjb

New England Journal of Medicine Coronavirus (Covid-19) portal--A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.  https://www.nejm.org/coronavirus

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics(SIAM) --The SIAM Epidemiology Collection has been made freely available in response to the outbreak of the SARS-CoV-2 virus and the associated disease COVID-19. https://epubs.siam.org/page/EpidemiologyCollection

Springer Nature --COVID-19 related research articles from Springer journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. https://www.springernature.com/gp/researchers/campaigns/coronavirus

Taylor & Francis --links and references to Taylor & Francis COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information https://taylorandfrancis.com/coronavirus/

Thieme --Specialist information on COVID-19 https://www.thieme.com/resources/1721-coronavirus

Wiley Novel Coronavirus Coronavirus Resources & News--WIley research articles, book chapters and entries in major reference texts https://novel-coronavirus.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/

Wolters Kluwer/Ovid--articles, books, and more regarding COVID-19 https://coronavirus.ovidds.com/

World Health Organization (WHO) COVID-19 portal, focusing on journal literature: https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/global-research-on-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov

COVID-19 Tracking

Alabama--from Samford University

https://samford.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=5d07a1a339d841c2b1b72eeec2051781

Global and U.S. Domestic--From Google-COVID-19 Community Mobility Reports-See how communities are moving around differently due to COVID-19

https://www.google.com/covid19/mobility/

Global and U.S. Domestic--From Johns Hopkins University

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html

Global--World Health Organization (WHO) Coronavirus disease (COVID-2019) situation reports

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/situation-reports 

U.S. Domestic--University of Washington Medicine Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)--charts below show projected hospital resource use based on COVID-19 deaths

https://covid19.healthdata.org/projections

U.S. Domestic--PolicyMap--County, state, and national level COVID-19 statistics provided via an interactive map of the United States

https://covid19.policymap.com/app

Clinical Resources and Course Materials

COVID-19 Data Collections

openICPSR COVID-19 Data Repository--a repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic https://www.openicpsr.org/openicpsr/covid19

Librarian

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer