Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDF 362: Foundations of Education I: Reading with purpose

Like any activity, reading for research is something that must be learned and practiced.  Learning to do so, however, saves you time and effort. 

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Use time more efficiently, skim an article before you read it!
Click on the graphic below to help you get started (brought to you courtesy of North Carolina State University)

 

Don't reinvent the wheel

Applied Psycholinguistics

Applied Psycholinguistics publishes original research papers on the psychological processes involved in language. It examines language development , language use and language disorders in adults and children with a particular emphasis on cross-language studies.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education in the United States is a two-volume work intended to be a comprehensive, first-stop reference work. It is tightly focused on the unique history, polemics, and the various forms bilingual education has taken in U.S. schools. It was written for use by non-specialists who wish to explore, in a comprehensive non-technical way, the intricacies of this subject from various angles: history, policy, classroom practice, designs and research bases. Readers may access information about the links between bilingual education and related subjects: linguistics, education equity issues, socio-cultural diversity, and the nature of demographic change in the United States.

Phonological Awareness and Primary Phonics

The book is a brief, practical guide for teachers who want or have to teach phonics. Phonological awareness and phonics are integrated so that the foundation of phonological awareness prepares students for phonics and makes both areas reciprocal. In work with struggling readers, Dr. Gunning developed a system to build on what students know and teach them to analyze words independently. He also found that students need a lot of practice to become effective readers. "Phonological Awareness and Primary Phonics" is a practical resource manual designed to provide step by step suggestions for assessing and instructing students in grades K-2 in phonological or phonemic awareness and phonics skills and strategies. This book provides an overview of phonological awareness and phonics, but goes far beyond that to present virtually everything a teacher might need in order to implement a high-quality, effective word analysis program. For pre-service and in-service teachers of elementary reading methods, elementary language arts and reading diagnosis/assessment and correction.

Phonological Awareness Assessment and Instruction

Full of hands-on phonological awareness activities, Phonological Awareness Assessment and Instruction: A Sound Beginning gives you the tools to assess phonological awareness at the word, syllable, onset-rime, and phoneme levels. Corresponding activities are then designed to enhance the development of awareness at each of these levels. Including a concise explanation of phonological awareness and a summary of recent research, the book describes the relationship between phonological awareness and learning to read. You can implement these activities in classrooms from preschool through second grade and collect data to measure the progress of your children as they learn.

Handbook of Reading Interventions

Comprehensive, authoritative, and designed for practical utility, this handbook presents evidence-based approaches for helping struggling readers and those at risk for literacy difficulties or delays. Leading experts explain how research on all aspects of literacy translates into innovative classroom practices. Chapters include clear descriptions of effective interventions for word recognition, spelling, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and writing, complete with concrete examples and teaching scripts. Coverage also encompasses preschool literacy instruction and interventions for older readers, English language learners, and students with learning disabilities, as well as peer-mediated and tutoring approaches.  

Encyclopedia of Education

This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer