Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics and Reports
NCES: National Center for Education Statistics
Much US data comes from NCES and may be found on this site. Includes statistics, indicators, early childhood longitudinal studies, staffing and personnel surveys, and much more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Check the subject index for both Education and Schools. Tends to cover educational attainment of the population among other issues. Contains school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, attainment and college enrollment.
Child Care & Early Education Research
Scholarly research, policy briefs, government reports, data, and instruments. Compiles and distributes bibliographies, develops issue briefs, and synthesizes research on key topics.
Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP 2000)
Provides a taxonomic scheme to support disciplinary tracking, assessment, and reporting, usually in higher education. Can be used for fine analysis of data and contains corresponding numeric analysis. Crosswalks and database available.
NSSE: National Survey of Student Engagement
Survey on higher education student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide illustrating use of student time and engagement.
CCSSE - Community College Survey of Student Engagement
Based on the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE), one of the more prominent surveys available for use in research. Looks at retention, etc.
Minority Data Resource Center: MDRC
For comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. Studies of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race.
Minorities in Higher Education: 2007 Supplement
Supplement to American Council on Education (ACE) biannual report now relying on IPEDS (more raw) data concerning minority/ethnic participation in higher education.
Division of Science Resources Statistics (SRS) - US National Science Foundation (NSF)
Statistics regarding science education, women, etc, which are not as easy to locate via NCES. Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources.
The Education Trust
Contains the 2006 Education Watch State Summaries, College Results Online, and Tools for Parents to analyze data.
Contains standard college information. However, this is the only site so far that has standardized "Student Learning Outcomes" for hundreds of colleges and universities.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
NCES product. Primary data source for higher education. Contains tables, downloadable data, and table creation functions by variables and for individual institutions. Aggregate data from Digest of Education Statistics tables might be more useful. For individual institutions, the most up-to-date information is generally available via institutional research offices within those institutions.
School District Demographics System (SDDS)
NCES product. Complied from Census data and the American Community data survey. Includes English language learners, IEP students, teachers. Has a Map Viewer and School District Profile Comparison tool. Covers multiple years. Has downloadable data.
Puts together 22 federal agency data sources. Includes developmental information, well-being indicators, emotional and behavioral difficulties, health care, family and social environment and more. Some publications note missing indicators needed for further research. May be especially useful for those interested in child development.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
Longitudinal study of 9,000 families since 1968. There is a child development supplement that focuses on children and caregivers.
Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)
Publishes national, longitudinal research and conducts key surveys in higher education. Annual publications include the freshman survey and the faculty survey. Part of the Cooperative Institutional Research Program (CIRP), regarded as the most comprehensive source of information on college students.
U.S. Census Bureau
Check the International Programs Center on this site.
Social Explorer enables researchers to access the most current and comprehensive demographic information - Including over 40 billion data elements and 220 years of data, the entire US Census from 1790 to the present. Visualize data with customizable maps.
Develop reports, presentations, and graphics - Save and automatically export reports to Excel and a variety of statistical packages. Full source documentation is available for all reports and every variable links directly to information about where the data originated and how it was computed. Save projects in your personal MyExplorer account for archiving and collaboration
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
Statistics on access, partcipation, efficiency, resources, literacy and attainment, and education system charateristics from over 200 countries.
TIMSS & PIRLS
Database for data construction and analysis of education around the world by Boston College. TIMSS concerns learning in mathematics and science carried out every four years at the fourth and eighth grades. PIRLS conducts reading assessments of literacy.
World Bank Education Statistics Database
Use for compling unique statistical reports for countries, country groups, and education indicators.
Basic statistics from UNICEF on several indicators including education levels for 100 countries. "The State of the World's Children" is their signature publication. Data available by country. May generate your own tables (see http://www.micscompiler.org). Data collection info at http://www.childinfo.org/mics.html
US Census Bureau – National Survey of Children’s Health
- National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), 1994-2008 [Public Use] (ICPSR 21600)*
- National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) Parent Study: Public Use, [United States], 2015-2017 (ICPSR 37375)*
U.S. Department of Justice – Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
ICPSR (the following are examples of data sets):
US Department of Health and Human Services:
*also found in ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provided through www.library.uab.edu