Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Databases

What's in This Guide?

Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases

Full Text Journal Databases

Current News Sources

Professional Organizations

General Engineering

Applied Science and Technology Full Text, 1983-present

Covers a wide array of subjects in the applied sciences and technology: engineering, computer technology, construction, machinery, metallurgy, and transportation. Contains citations and abstracts for articles from over 400 international journals, and the full text of selected articles (1997 to the present). From 1958 to 1994 this index is available in print, without abstracts, as Applied Science and Technology Index (Sterne Reference Storage, Ref Z 7913 I7).

Compendex, 1884-present

Covers all areas of engineering. Contains citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English. Includes links to some full text.

Scopus, 1823-present

Provides citations for articles appearing in over 21,000 journals, trade publications, and book series, as well as conference publications (including physical sciences, life sciences, and health sciences). Each citation includes a link to the reference list or bibliography which allows searches to be done for items that cite a particular author or work.

Biomedical Engineering

PubMed, 1966-present

Covers all aspects of biomedicine, including biomedical engineering and biomedical and dental materials. Contains citations and a high percentage of abstracts for articles from 3,900 journals. Includes links to some full text.

Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering

GreenFILE.

A collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles focusing on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Includes some full text.

Electrical & Computer Engineering

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore)

Full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, and to IEEE standards.

Mechanical Engineering

Applied Mechanics Reviews.

Covers all aspects of mechanical engineering as well as related cross-disciplinary subjects. Monthly issues contain state-of-the-art review articles, critical book reviews, and abstracts for articles from research journals (through 2000). Earlier years (from 1948) are available in the Periodical Microfilm Collection and the Bound Periodicals Collection (Per TA 1 A63953).

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer