Birmingham as Building Block: Teaching and Learning: Building Blocks (Resources)

A repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Over 70 primary source collections in areas including African American studies, American Indian studies, American/China trade, Colonial America, Gender studies, Women studies, etc.

Contains full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

Primary documents covering race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage in America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt.

Contains poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays supporting the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigration issues, and political history.

Collection of women's diaries and correspondence, spanning over 300 years and covering the personal experiences of 1,500 North American women.

Includes law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, trials, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register and more.

Seventeen primary source collections documenting 20th century far-right and left political groups in the US, Europe and Australia.

Congressional publications, legislative histories, bills and laws, Congressional members and committees, regulations, Congressional Record, and political news.

A comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch; includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Two series of full text collections that focus on Hispanic history and culture in the United States. Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Includes content from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive; decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more. Archive collections include European Bureaus, Middle East Bureaus, AP News and Internal Communications, U.S. City Bureaus, and Washington, D.C. Bureau.

Birmingham history through the current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

Coverage of the African American experience as depicted by news media; includes America’s ongoing conversation on race and historic changes; such as Barack Obama’s election, the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.

Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.

Delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Access to over 4,000 films that support teaching and learning in all academic subject areas. All films in Kanopy’s ‘Browse’ or ‘In Collection’ tabs are available. Requests for other films will be contingent on course requirements, availability of the film elsewhere, and library budget.

Documentary films and series covering history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, education, anthropology, politics and literature.

Various publications from many agencies, boards and commissions within Alabama state government, including the governor's office and the legislature.

Four primary source collections on gender and sexuality, LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, and policy studies.

Primary source collections covering topics: African American Studies; American Studies; Asian Studies; British & European History; Business & Economic History; Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies; International Relations; Latin American & Caribbean Studies; Native American Studies; and Religious Studies.

Literary works of Black abolitionists documenting the impact of African American activism against slavery. Content from 1830 - 1865.

Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Content from 1898 - 1996.

Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books; includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. Content from 1909 - 1972.

Primary source materials, regional newspapers, pamphlets covering topics including the abolitionist movement, and the emancipation of slaves.