Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are not the only options, but simply suggested places you might find helpful. Ask if you need additional assistance!
Databases provided by UAB Libraries
Documents and journal literature on education; sponsored by the US Department of Education.
1966 - present.
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals.
1983 - present.
Educator's Reference Complete
Periodicals and reports covering education from preschool to college; includes technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, policy. Replaces Professional Collection.
1980 - 2013.
Education Full Text
Publications covering education; includes periodicals, yearbooks, books.
Academic Video Online
Videos covering anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Contains more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
U.S. and international newspapers.
1988 - present.
Various social, political and educational topics as covered world-wide in newspapers, magazines and journals. Diverse perspectives and viewpoints.
1959 – present.
NewsBank Access World News Research Collection
Access to international, national and local newspapers from more than 12,000 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories; includes the Birmingham News.
Web Sources for Research
AERA (American Educational Research Association)
One of the largest and most influential associations in U. S. education with several divisions, and special interest groups.
Council of the Great City Schools (CGCS)
Contains research briefs, publications, legislative testimony, etc. Emphasis on urban education.
U.S. Department of Education Policy
Greatest value to this may be that from it you can link to individual states. Education in the US is mostly local.
Learning Policy Institute
The Learning Policy Institute conducts and communicates independent, high-quality research to improve education policy and practice. Working with policymakers, researchers, educators, community groups, and others, the Institute seeks to advance evidence-based policies that support empowering and equitable learning for each and every child.
Provides policy analysis and data about California's K–12 public school system.
Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)
"international, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application."
National Academy of Education (NAEd)
Advances quality education research and its use in policy formation and practice. Undertakes research studies that address pressing issues in education and that typically include both NAEd members and other scholars with an expertise in a particular area of inquiry. Site contains a bibliography of publications, research initiatives, and meeting, and fellowship information. Does not contain policy statements. Based in Washington, DC.
National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)
Mission is to strengthen State Boards as an educational policymaking body for students and citizens. Has publications, study groups, tutorials, etc.
SREE | Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness
Advances and disseminates research on the causal effects of education interventions, practices, programs, and policies. Sponsors activities and publishes original research focused on educational effectiveness. Has conference. Publishes journal, handbook and research briefs. Some UCI Education faculty participate.
Identifies, translates and models relevant scholarly research to frame the public discourse about social problems. Current projects focus on such issues as mental health, education, budget and taxes, early childhood development, child nutrition, children's oral health, and other children's issues.
Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD)
Holds biennial meeting, publishes, has policy briefs, international in scope, has over 5,000 members, located in Ann Arbor, MI. UCI researchers present at this conference.
Society for Research on Adolescents (SRA)
Biennial conference; publishes Journal of Research on Adolescence, and newsletter. Covers theoretical, empirical, and policy research issues of adolescence, including issues of diversity. Links to blog posts written (though not endorsed) by members. UCI researchers present at this conference. International/global scope.