HY 225: History of Alabama: Hispanics/LatinX in Alabama

Alabama 2010: Summary Population and Housing Characteristics. U.S. Census Bureau, 2012.  https://www2.census.gov/library/publications/2012/dec/cph-1-2.pdf

Numbers from the 2010 census. For Hispanic/Latinx statistics, see tables 3, 4, and 18.

Alabama Population Grew 5.1$ Since 2010, Surpassing 5 Million

Statistics on Alabama from the latest census. Scroll down for specific numbers on counties' race and ethnicity rankings

Alabama State Fact Sheet. UnidosUS, 2005.  https://unidosus.org/publications/890-alabama-state-fact-sheet/

UnidosUS (formerly The National Council of La Raza) is a nonpartisan Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States. For more recent numbers from Unidos,see the fact sheet Alabama by the Numbers.

County Health Rankings in Alabama. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps, 2019.  https://www.countyhealthrankings.org/explore-health-rankings/alabama?year=2023

This page summarizes the data. You can view historical data, data sources, and other resources on the Alabama Health Rankings page.

Hispanic/Latino Demographics. Pew Hispanic Center.  www.pewhispanic.org/states/state/al/

You can break the Alabama statistics down by county and download the data to a spreadhseet.

Facts on Latinos in the U.S. Pew Hispanic Center, 2019. www.pewresearch.org/hispanic/fact-sheet/latinos-in-the-u-s-fact-sheet/

The most recent report from Pew. Includes socioeconomic status, language use, and educational attainment. There is an accompanying blog post, Key facts about U.S. Hispanics and their diverse heritage.

Hispanic Health Profile: Alabama. Alabama Department of Public Health, 2003.

While older, this report looks at all aspects of health in Alabama Hispanics including diseases and infant morality.

Hispanic Population in the U.S.: 2021. . U.S. Census Bureau, 2011. https://www.census.gov/data/tables/2021/demo/hispanic-origin/2021-cps.html

Listing of tables related to Hispanic demographics. Topics include household, employment, and health insurance.

Hispanic Population in Alabama.  U.S. Census Bureau, 2022.  https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/AL/RHI725222

2018 population estimates. Results can be narrowed to a county or zip code.

MLA Language Map.  www.mla.org/Resources/Research/MLA-Language-Map

Maps locations and numbers of speakers of twelve languages commonly spoken in the United States. In the map, you can narrow the speakers by language.

Pew Research Center: Hispanics/Latinos.  https://www.pewresearch.org/topic/race-ethnicity/racial-ethnic-groups/hispanics-latinos/

This site has many statistics on Hispanics in the United States including language use, politics, and racial identity. Search for “Alabama” in the box on the home page.

Poverty Rate by Race/Ethnicity. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2017.  www.kff.org/other/state-indicator/poverty-rate-by-raceethnicity

You can narrow the table to just Hispanics and view the data by table, map, or trend graph. .

Six Maps that Reveal America's Expanding Racial Diversity. Brookings Institution, 2019. www.brookings.edu/research/americas-racial-diversity-in-six-maps/

A pre-2020 census look at the wide dispersal of the nation’s Hispanic, Asian and black populations. Map is "Metros with largest 2018 Hispanic populations and highest 2010-2018 growth" (Tuscaloosa has greater than 200% of the national Hispanic growth rate).

Status and Trends in the Education of Racial and Ethnic Groups 2018. National Center for Education Statistics, 2018. nces.ed.gov/pubs2019/2019038.pdf

Presents a selection of indicators that examine differences in educational participation and attainment of students in the racial/ethnic groups of White, Black, Hispanic, Asian, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander, American Indian/Alaska Native, and Two or more races. Summarizes data on topics such as demographics; pre-primary, elementary, and secondary participation; student achievement; student behaviors and persistence in education, post secondary education, and outcomes of education.

UnidosUS Publications. https://unidosus.org/publications/

Reports on social issues related to Hispanics/Latinx. To locate reports that include Alabama, use the search box on the left. Reports are in both English and Spanish.

Destino Birmingham. UAB Digital Media, 2001.

La Casita. UAB Digital Media, 2007.

Sweet Home Alabama. Vice, 2011.

Una iglesia = One Church. UAB Digital Media, 2007.

Alabama House Bill 56.
e-lobbyist.com/gaits/text/321074
media.al.com/ht/other/HB56-enr.pdf

This is the full text to the controversial immigration law passed in 2011.

The New Latino South: The Context and Consequences of Rapid Population Growth. Pew Hispanic Center. 26 July 2005.
www.pewhispanic.org/2005/07/26/the-new-latino-south/

All print resources are on the 3rd floor of th Mervyn H. Sterne Library.

Alabama al día: A Report on Hispanic Cultures in Alabama. Montgomery: Alabama State Council on the Arts, 2007.
F 335 .S75 A55 2007

Globalization and the American South. Athens: U of Georgia P, 2005.
HC 107 .A13 G54 2005

Irresistible Forces: Latin American Migration to the United States and its Effects on the South. Albuquerque: U of New Mexico P, 2009.
F 220.S75 W44 2009

Latinos and the U.S. South. Westport: Praeger, 2008.
F 220 .S75 M36 2008

Latino Immigrants and the Transformation of the U.S. South. U pf Georgia P, 2009.
F220.S75 L363 2009

Latinos in the New South: Transformations of Place. Aldershot, Eng.: Ashgate, 2006.
F 220 .S75 L37 2006

Latino Workers in the Contemporary South. Athens: U of Georgia P, 2001.
GN 2 .S9243 no. 34

New Destination Dreaming: Immigration, Race, and Legal Status in the Rural American South. Stanford: Stanford UP, 2011.
F 220 .S7 M37 2011

Our America: A Hispanic History of the United States. New York: W.W. Norton, 2014.
E184.S75 F46 2014

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. New York: Oxford UP, 2005.
Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005
ebook

Translation Nation: Defining a New American Identity in the Spanish-Speaking United States. New York: Riverhead, 2005.
E184.S75 T63 2005

Unauthorized: Portraits of Latino Immigrants. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2019.
ebook

Recommended Articles (in date order)

Hyeyoung, Lim,and Nadejda Bontcheva-Loyaga. "Perceptions of the U.S. Police among Latin American Immigrants: A Bifocal Lens View." Race and Justice (2022).

Urbano, Juan."Rural Language by Law: Why Rural Towns Pass English-Only Laws." Great Plains Research 31.2 (2021): 173-86.

Ferreti, Gwendolyn, et al. "'No Te Tratan Bien Porque Eres Mexicana': Intersectional Systemic Violence and Precarity in Latina Adolescent Life in the U.S. South." Peace and Conflice, 26.2 (2020): 126-35.

National Public Radio. "ICE Raids Hit Poultry Processing Plants that Rely on Latino Immigrant Labor." All Things Considered, 2019

Stebbins, Samuel, and Evan Comen. "Economic Inequality: The Worst States for Hispanics and Latinos." USA Today, 19 Jan. 2018.

Henderson, Tim. "Why Hispanics Are Leaving Some Southern Counties." Pew, 2 Aug. 2017.

Vargas, Edward D., Gabriel R. Sanchez, and Melina D. Juárez. "The Impact of Punitive Immigrant Laws on the Health of Latina/o Populations." Politics & Policy 45.3 (2017): 312-337

Johnson, Kevin R. "A Political Explanation of the Popularity of Unconstitutional State Immigration Enforcement Laws." Journal of American Ethnic History 35.3 (2016): 68-75.

Magaña,Lisa. "Comparing and Contrasting the Rationales for SB 1070 and HB 56: A Short Analysis." Journal of American Ethnic History 35.3 (2016): 82-86.

Mohl, Raymond A. “The Politics of Expulsion: A Short History of  Alabama's Anti-Immigrant Law, HB 56." Journal of American Ethnic History 35.3 (2016): 42-67.

Odem, Mary E. "Immigration Politics in the New Latino South." Journal of American Ethnic History 35.3 (2016): 87-91.

Jacobson, Louis. "The Hispanic Dynamic." State Legislatures 41.6 (2015): 16-20.

White, Kari, et al. Impact of Alabama's Immigration Law on Access to Health Care Among Latina Immigrants and Children: Implications for National Reform. American Journal of Public Health 104.3 (2014): 397-405.

Cuicahua, Victor. "Being a Latino Student in the Heart of Dixie." UWire 10 Oct. 2013.

Robertson, Campbell.  "After Ruling, Hispanics Flee an Alabama Town." New York Times 4 Oct. 2011: A1.

McDaniel, Paul N. and Anita Drever.  "Ethnic Enclave or International Corridor? Immigrant Business in a New South City." Southeastern Geographer 49.1 (2009): 3-23.

Bullock, Charles S. and M.V. Hood. “A Mile-Wide Gap: The Evolution of Hispanic Political Emergence in the Deep South.” Social Science Quarterly 87 (2006): 1117-35.

Campbell, Kristina. "The 'New Selma' and the Old Selma: Arizona, Alabama, and the Immigration Civil Rights Movement in the Twenty-First Century." Journal of American Ethnic History 35.3 (2006): 76-81.

“AG Census Reveals Alabama Trends.” Southeast Farm Press March 2004. 17.

Brooks, Jennifer E. "'No Juan Crow!'."  Southern Cultures 18.3 (2002): 49-56.

Mohl, Raymond A. “Latinization in the Heart of Dixie: Hispanics in Late-Twentieth-Century Alabama.” Alabama Review 55 (2002): 243-74.

―. “The Nuevo New South: Hispanic Migration to Alabama.” Migration World 30.3 (2002): 14-18.

Yeoman, Barry. “Hispanic Diaspora.” Mother Jones Jul.-Aug. 2000. 34+.  Also available at www.motherjones.com/news/feature/2000/07/diaspora.html.

Parker, Suzi. “Hispanics Reshape Culture of the South.” Christian Science Monitor June 1999: 136.

Lewis, Anne C. “Growing Hispanic Enrollments: Challenge and Opportunity.” Phi Delta Kappan. 80.1 (1998): 3-4.

 

Recommended Databases

Articles are found in Databases.  The Birmingham News has published many articles about the influx on Hispanics in Alabama. You can search the archives and then view the microfilm in Sterne Library for dates before 2009. After 2009, you must go to the Birmingham Public Library and use the NewsBank database. For information on finding articles in other Alabama newspapers, refer to the guide Alabama Newspapers in UAB Libraries Databases.

Academic Search Premier
Academic OneFile
Ethnic News Watch



*Make sure that you sort articles by relevance rather than date.

Possible search terms:
      (hispanic* OR latin*) AND Alabama
      Hispanic Americans AND Alabama
      Hispanic Americans AND Southeast