Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HY 225: History of Alabama: Digital Image Collections

Image Collections in Databases and on the Web

This page covers Sterne Library databases and open websites that feature digital image collections. The websites of museums, galleries, libraries, archives, and other historical and cultural institutions often include digital images of their holdings.

Need health sciences or medicine-related images? Choose "Images" from the "Browse by category" menu on the Lister Hill Library's databases page.

Featured Image Database

ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses. It covers architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

Topics include African American studies, American studies, anthropology, architecture and architectural history, Asian studies, classical studies, design and decorative studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, literary studies, maps/charts/graphs, medieval studies, Middle Eastern studies, music history, Native American studies, photography, religious studies, Renaissance studies, theater and dance, and women's studies. Images are derived from the collections of libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual scholars.

Sterne Library Databases

Mega Guide to Digital Image Collections

Image Collections on the Open Web

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ι Contact Us ι Disclaimer