Research Guides: CHHS 342: The Health Education/Promotion Specialist: Sources

Suggested Databases

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Content from 1937 - present.

See related Research Guide: CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Includes Ovid collection of e-books & e-journals, MEDLINE Complete, Emcare, Visible Body, ACC CardioSource Plus, and JBI ESP Database.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications covering alternative, holistic and complementary approaches to health; includes popular publications and peer-reviewed journals.

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Publications covering science. Includes popular science magazines, professional journals, The New York Times Science Section.
Applied Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Publications in chemistry, computer technology, geology, mathematics, physics, and telecommunications. Includes periodicals, buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. Content from 1993 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, up-to-date drug information in nursing-focused monographs. It also includes extensive supplemental material in 14 appendices, thoroughly addresses the issue of safe medication administration, and educates the reader about 50 different therapeutic classes of drugs.

AAFP Conditions A-Z This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP); contains professional information on common conditions, medical diseases, treatments and health tips (many available in Spanish).
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of more than 690 journals in communication studies and closely-related disciplines, plus full text from over 300 journals. Content from 1915 - present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents and journal literature on education; sponsored by the US Department of Education.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Includes over 107,000 medical and healthcare terms and definitions.
Merck Manual (Consumer Version) This link opens in a new window
Contains accessible health information on a broad range of medical conditions, illnesses, and situations, including accidents and injuries, aging, cancer, diabetes, digestive disorders, heart disease, mental health disorders, and many others. Covers men's, women's, pediatric (both newborns and older children), and geriatric health issues.