Research Guides: SW 630: Research with Health and Behavior Health Populations: Sources

Databases Provided by UAB Libraries

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical trials, & studies for evidence-based medicine.

See related Research Guide: Cochrane Library
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Content from 1979 - present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Citations, subjects, descriptions, and reliability and validity information for health and behavior tests. Content from 1985 - present.

Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains domestic and international citations, abstracts and some full text to book chapters, books, dissertations and journal articles dealing with psychology. Content from 1806 - present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
Federally-funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

See related Research Guide: Dissertations and Theses
OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL and Making the Most of My NCBI
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Content from 1937 - present.

See related Research Guide: CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Principal health statistics agency in U.S..
Global Health Data Exchange This link opens in a new window
Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) at the University of Washington.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
An archive of social science data for research and instruction.

See related Research Guide: ICPSR

Contact UAB Librarian Brooke Becker at babecker@uab.edu, or send an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu if you experience issues.