Anthropology

Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Covers anthropology: social, cultural, physical, biological, linguistic. Includes ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University (USA) and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK).

Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.

Theoretical and applied linguistics, psycho-linguistics, speech therapy. Non-evaluative abstracts; covers serials published worldwide, recent books, dissertation listings, and book reviews. Content from 1973 - present.

Bibliography of books and articles on modern languages and literature, linguistics, folklore, film, and other related topics. Content from 1926 - present.

Covers ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

See related Research Guide: Dissertations and Theses

Ethnographies of the early 20th century that unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective.

Expands on Ignacio Bernal's Bibliografia de arqueologia y etnografia: Mesoamerica y Norte de Mexico, 1514-1960 to create a bibliography of published materials from 1514 onward. Includes materials on archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and related disciplines.

Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad.

The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.