Global Mental Health Student Forum

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.

Global Mental Health provides an outline of the field of mental health with a particular focus on Latin America and the Spanish-speaking world. The book details evidence-based approaches being implemented globally and presents ongoing state of the art research on major mental disorders taking place in Latin America, including work being done on understanding Alzheimer's, Bipolar Disorder, Schizophrenia, and other psychoses. While supporting the initiative for building capacity of care in low income countries, the book warns about some of the potential risks related to the abuse of psychiatry, using examples from the past, focusing on early 20th century Spain.

Global Mental Health and Psychotherapy: Adapting Psychotherapy for Low- and Middle-Income Countries takes a detailed look at how psychotherapies can be adapted and implemented in low- and middle-income countries, while also illuminating the challenges and how to overcome them. The book addresses the conceptual framework underlying global mental health and psychotherapy, focusing on the importance of task-shifting, a common-elements approach, rigorous supervision, and the scaling up of psychotherapies. Specific psychotherapies, such as cognitive-behavioral therapy, interpersonal therapy and collaborative care are given in-depth coverage, as is working with special populations, such as children and adolescents, pregnant women, refugees, and the elderly. In addition, treatment strategies for common disorders, such as depression, anxiety and stress, and substance abuse are covered, as are strategies for more severe mental disorders, such as schizophrenia.

This volume addresses gaps in the existing literature of global mental health by focusing on the ethical considerations that are implicit in discussions of health policy. In line with trends in clinical education around the world today, this text is explicitly designed to draw out the principles and values by which programs can be designed and policy decisions enacted. It presents an ethical lens for understanding right and wrong in conditions of scarcity and crisis, and the common controversies that lead to conflict. Additionally, a focus on the mental health response in "post-conflict" settings, provides guidance for real-world matters facing clinicians and humanitarian workers today. Global Mental Health Ethics fills a crucial gap for students in psychiatry, psychology, addictions, public health, geriatric medicine, social work, nursing, humanitarian response, and other disciplines.  

This open access book offers essential information on values-based practice (VBP): the clinical skills involved, teamwork and person-centered care, links between values and evidence, and the importance of partnerships in shared decision-making. Different cultures have different values; for example, partnership in decision-making looks very different, from the highly individualized perspective of European and North American cultures to the collective and family-oriented perspectives common in South East Asia. In turn, African cultures offer yet another perspective, one that falls between these two extremes (called batho pele). The book will benefit everyone concerned with the practical challenges of delivering mental health services. Accordingly, all contributions are developed on the basis of case vignettes, and cover a range of situations in which values underlie tensions or uncertainties regarding how to proceed in clinical practice. Examples include the patient'sautonomy and best interest, the physician's commitment to establishing high standards of clinical governance, clinical versus community best interest, institutional versus clinical interests, patients insisting on medically unsound but legal treatments etc. Thus far, VBP publications have mainly dealt with clinical scenarios involving individual values (of clinicians and patients). Our objective with this book is to develop a model of VBP that is culturally much broader in scope. As such, it offers a vital resource for mental health stakeholders in an increasingly inter-connected world. It also offers opportunities for cross-learning in values-based practice between cultures with very different clinical care traditions.

In the Aftermath of the Pandemic is an accessible treatment manual enabling psychotherapists to use Interpersonal Psychotherapy (IPT) to address the psychological consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic and other large-scale disasters. Well-studied and time-limited, IPT has demonstrated efficacy in treating mood disorders, anxiety disorders, and posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD). IPT helps people to mobilize social support, to process and take control of environmental stressors, relieving symptoms. As such it appears an excellent intervention for the wave of psychiatric problems accompanying the COVID-19 pandemic. The book describes IPT techniques and focuses on treating the disaster's major outcomes - depression, PTSD, and anxiety - illustrating their treatment with multiple detailed case examples drawn from actual clinical presentations from the pandemic. The book also addresses the sudden shift from in-person to remote tele-therapy, and includes a novel COVID Behavioral Checklist of psychological risk factors. Dr. John Markowitz, a leading IPT expert, explains the psychological impacts of disasters like COVID-19 and the particular usefulness of IPT in addressing them, making this a crucial text for clinicians looking to address the psychiatric crisis the pandemic has wrought.

LGBTQ Mental Health: International Perspectives and Experiences expands our understanding of mental health by considering the unique challenges faced by LGBTQ communities in the Majority World. Increased globalization and migration has highlighted the need for mental health clinicians to better understand these communities' experiences and needs. This book provides an overview of LGBTQ mental health in non-Western countries or regions that have heretofore received little attention in the psychology literature. Chapters focus on the cultural, social, legal, political, and psychological experiences of various LGBTQ subpopulations in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, Russia, Mongolia, India, Malaysia, Thailand, and sub-Saharan Africa. Contributors summarize existing research on mental health outcomes for LGBTQ individuals in these countries or regions; offer key insights that challenge culturally-specific conceptions of normative, LGBTQ mental health and behavior; and offer recommendations for further research and mental health practice with these populations.

Men are less likely than women to seek help for mental health issues and are much more likely to commit suicide. This scoping review examined recent evidence published in English and Russian on the role of socially constructed masculinity norms in men's help-seeking behavior for mental health issues. The key sociocultural barriers to men's help-seeking pertaining to masculinity norms were identified as self-reliance, difficulty in expressing emotions, and self-control. The wider community societal and cultural challenges to men's help-seeking and well-being were found to include economic insecurity, inequality, and limited health- and social-care provisions - especially for marginalized groups of men. However, there is also evidence to indicate that men are able to display vulnerability and seek help with trusted people (such as family members, peers, and specialists) and within trusted communities. Policy considerations to improve men's help-seeking for mental health issues should include an awareness of the prevailing cultural norms of masculinity in diverse groups of men to provide effective, tailored interventions for mental health promotion.

The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health provides a comprehensive and authoritative review of research on the mental health of sexual minorities - defined as those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, or same-gender attracted; as well as the mental health of gender minorities-defined as individuals who do not fully identify with their sex assigned at birth, including people who are transgender or gender non-binary. The twenty-first century has seen encouraging improvements in sampling, methods, and funding opportunities for research with sexual and gender minority (SGM) populations; nevertheless, a key purpose of this Handbook is to identify lingering gaps in research in order to motivate future scientists to expand knowledge about SGM mental health. The volume begins with a historical overview, followed by sections on mental health categories/diagnoses (such as anxiety, trauma, eating disorders, and suicide) and specific sexual and gender minority populations (including examinations of diverse ethnicities and orientations/identities). The handbook concludes with chapters on stigma, the role of resilience, and future directions for research with SGM groups. The volume is aimed at researchers conducting studies on the mental health of SGM populations, clinicians and researchers interested in psychiatric disorders that affect SGM populations, clinicians using evidence-based practice in the treatment of SGM patients/clients, students in mental health programs (clinical psychology, psychiatry, clinical social work, and psychiatric nursing), and policy makers.

There is a long tradition of practicing positive well-being through state, religion, seers, traditional medical practitioners, yoga practitioners, etc. With the advent of science and technology, individuals have begun to incorporate modern practices with traditional practices to improve the general state of health in society. However, more research needs to be done regarding physical, social, and emotional medical methods and practices. Psycho-Social Perspectives on Mental Health and Well-Being is a collection of comprehensive knowledge on health, mental health, spirituality, and its impact on well-being. While highlighting topics including emotional health, positive psychology, and spirituality care, this book is ideally designed for psychologists, therapists, psychiatrists, counsellors, social workers, nurses, medical practitioners, mental health professionals, students, researchers, and academicians seeking current research on a wide range of theories, models, and practices for the promotion of well-being.

This groundbreaking volume, published by the American Psychological Association in partnership with the International Union of Psychological Science, provides a detailed guide to clinical diagnosis by psychologists and other health professionals based on the eleventh revision of the World Health Organization's International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11). The ICD-11 was adopted by the World Health Assembly in 2019 and came into effect as the global standard for health information and reporting in 2022. The ICD is the diagnostic system for mental disorders most widely used by mental health professionals around the world in their day-to-day clinical practice. This edited volume offers a step-by-step approach to diagnosis, giving mental health professionals around the world the tools they need to apply ICD-11 diagnostic requirements for mental, behavioral, and neurodevelopmental disorders as the basis for delivering high quality, evidence-informed care. A psychological approach to diagnosis is a conceptually driven, person-oriented, biopsychosociocultural formulation that integrates pertinent history, behavior, symptoms, phenomenology, and functioning.  A psychological approach focuses on psychological mechanisms and principles as an aspect of diagnostic practice and case formulation, regardless of professional discipline.   The chapters of this book cover the major groupings of mental disorder as well as related areas that are important parts of psychological practice, such as sexual dysfunctions, sleep-wake disorders, and relationship problems and maltreatment. The authors of this book are leading global experts in each area, many of whom were integrally involved in developing the respective sections of the ICD-11.   Authors describe the overarching logic for the classificatory arrangement and the elements of a psychological approach to the set of disorders discussed in each chapter, including psychological models for conceptualizing their symptoms and recommendations for psychological assessment. The chapters also discuss presentations and symptom patterns for each major group of disorders, specifiers and subtypes, the threshold between normal variation and disorder, differential diagnoses, co-occurring disorders, developmental course, cultural and contextual considerations, and gender-related features.   A Psychological Approach to Diagnosis is the first comprehensive training resource on WHO's ICD-11 classification of mental, behavioural and neurodevelopmental disorders. It provides practicing psychologists and other mental health professionals, primary care clinicians, educators, and trainees with essential tools for the competent practice of diagnosis using the ICD-11 as a framework.  

Self-Compassion: Stop Beating Yourself Up and Leave Insecurity Behind offers expert advice on how to limit self-criticism and offset its negative effects, enabling you to achieve your highest potential and a more contented, fulfilled life. More and more, psychologists are turning away from an emphasis on self-esteem and moving toward self-compassion in the treatment of their patients--and Dr. Neff's extraordinary book offers exercises and action plans for dealing with every emotionally debilitating struggle, be it parenting, weight loss, or any of the numerous trials of everyday living.