Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering: Codes, Specifications, and Standards

What's in This Guide?

Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases

Full Text Journal Databases

Professional Organizations

Codes, Specifications, and Standards

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice. Ref TA 683 A631

The current edition is in the Reference Collection; earlier editions are in the Circulating Collection.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards.

We have online access to the current versions of ASTM standards through the ASTM Compass database. After clicking the link above, you must accept the license agreement before accessing the resource. Once in the digital library, you can browse or search for needed standards.

International Code Council.

The current edition and previous editions back to 2009 of the ICC code volumes are freely viewable here (no downloading). Available volumes include International Building Code, International Existing Building Code, International Property Maintenance Code, International Residential Code, International Fire Code, International Plumbing Code, International Sewage Disposal Code, International Swimming Pool and Spa Code, International Mechanical Code, International Fuel Gas Code, International Energy Conservation Code, ICC Performance Code, International Wildlife Urban Interface Code, and International Zoning Code. The International Green Construction Code is also availailable.

LEED Resources.

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is the most widely used green building rating system in the world. Available for virtually all building, community and home project types, it provides a framework to create healthy, highly efficient and cost-saving green buildings. Among the resources available on the LEED website are the rating system and standards, credentialing information, and case studies.

National Fire Protection Association

The NFPA develops and publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards -- including the National Electrical Code, the Fire Code, the Building Construction and Safety Code, and the Building Energy Code -- many of which are adopted at the state and local level. These codes and standards are made freely available online in read-only format. To view them, go to the NFPA free access page and follow the instructions "to review codes and standards online." [Note: You will be asked to create a profile and sign in to access the documents.]

Standard Specifications for Highway Construction.

This edition and previous editions back to 2002 are linked on the ALDOT Standard Specifications and General Application Special Provisions web page.

Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods for Sampling and Testing. 2018 edition.

We have online access to several of the previous editions of these specifications through Knovel as well.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer