Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering: Databases

What's in This Guide?

Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases

Full Text Journal Databases

Current News Sources

Professional Organizations

General Engineering

Applied Science and Technology Full Text, 1983-present

Covers a wide array of subjects in the applied sciences and technology: engineering, computer technology, construction, machinery, metallurgy, and transportation. Contains citations and abstracts for articles from over 400 international journals, and the full text of selected articles (1997 to the present). From 1958 to 1994 this index is available in print, without abstracts, as Applied Science and Technology Index (Sterne Reference Storage, Ref Z 7913 I7).

Compendex, 1884-present

Covers all areas of engineering. Contains citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports. Approximately 22% of the database is conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in English. Includes links to some full text.

Scopus, 1823-present

Provides citations for articles appearing in over 21,000 journals, trade publications, and book series, as well as conference publications (including physical sciences, life sciences, and health sciences). Each citation includes a link to the reference list or bibliography which allows searches to be done for items that cite a particular author or work.

Core Databases

GreenFILE.

A collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles focusing on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Includes some full text.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

A collection of academic journal articles, magazine articles, news stories, statistics, primary and reference sources, case studies, and videos on issues related to the environment, sustainability, emerging green technologies, and more.

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)

Comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board; contains references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, theses, and Environmental Impact Statements.

Supplementary Databases

AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access)

Collections of the National Agricultural Library (NAL); comprised of the NAL's Online Public Access Catalog (citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials) and the Article Citation Database (citations to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints).

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore)

Full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, and to IEEE standards.

PubMed

The broad scope of PubMed is biomedicine and health, and it encompasses areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, environmental science, and plant and animal science. It contains citations and abstracts to journal articles and online books; also included are a small number of newspaper, magazine, and newsletter articles considered useful.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer