Skip to main content

Finding Test Instruments: MMY with TiP

A guide on finding surveys, questionnaires, and research instruments.

Searching Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY): Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments in the fields of psychology, education, business, and leadership.  The tests collected in the MMY with TIP database date back to 1938.  There are over 7,000 test reviews available in full text so that users can make the best judgment on the tests they intend to use or analyze.  

Tests in Print (TIP): Is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

For tests covered in both Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print, the database provides a single combined comprehensive record that combines Tests in Print Citation with the Mental Measurements Full Text Review.

Both MMY & TIP are published by the Buros Institute

MMY with TiP can be accessed through LHL Databases.

Searching MMY with TIP

Additional Tips

  • If you want to search by subject, start with a very broad search.  For example,
  • There are over 700 titles under the Miscellaneous category.  it is best to use a keyword when browsing that list.   
  • You can also make sure the test has a review by clicking the box next to "Has Review."
  • Read the record closely.  The authors of the test are are not always clearly labeled.    

MMY/TIP Viewing Results

Click on image to enlarge.

NOTE: Click once to open; then click the image again to enlarge. 

Chat with a Librarian

 

Contact us:
Lister Hill Library
2nd Floor
205-934-2231

Sterne Library
HUB Desk
205-934-6364

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer