Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learn to Use Library Resources
Learn how to use LHL resources by consulting the guides below or by browsing our YouTube Channel.
Working On & Off Campus
Did you know that you can get to almost all library resources, including journal articles, even if you aren't on campus? Just go through the LHL web site at https://library.uab.edu/locations/lister-hill. If you are off campus you will be prompted to enter your Blazer ID and password.
Find an article and want to read the full text? Look for the Full Text@UAB Libraries button:
When you find a citation or reference to a specific article, Full Text@UAB Libraries supplies the best available path to the content:
- full text of the article if available
- Google Scholar to see if there is a free version
- Illiad forms to request the article through InterLibrary loan.
See more help on using Full Text@UAB Libraries.
Remember: Don't pay for the full text of articles you find on Google...check to see if the library has it! See how to set your preferences in Google Scholar to show UAB Libraries holdings.
How to Use Lister Hill Library Online
These 2 videos demonstrates how to use the features of the LHL homepage. If you cannot view the videos, click here. Use the icons below the screen to increase the quality or watch in full screen view.
Tips for Search Success
Brainstorm possible search terms
- Break up long phrases into separate search terms
- Watch this narrated tutorial to learn more about how to select search keywords
Build search statements using AND, OR, and sometimes, NOT
- Learn more about Boolean operators here
- AND narrows your search, OR broadens it
Choose appropriate resources
- Consider books and e-books for background information. Articles can provide more current information and answer specific patient-related questions. Use databases like PubMed, CINAHL or the Cochrane Library to find articles dealing with evidence-based health care.
- PubMed and CINAHL are typically good databases to start with for finding peer-reviewed biomedical articles.
Keep a log of your search process
- If you're working on a larger-scale project, keep track of what databases and search terms "work" and which ones do not. This will keep you focused and organized as you search.
Use Help links in databases
- Each database searches differently. Explore the support information provided in a database if you aren't sure about the best way to enter your search statement.
Ask a Librarian if you get stuck!