Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country Background Information
E-HRAF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Subject codes are useful for searching.
Academic Search Premier
Publications covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals.
1940 - present.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Four primary source collections on gender and sexuality, LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, and policy studies.
LexisNexis (now Nexis Uni)
Newspapers from everywhere; includes Chronicle of Higher Education and student newspapers.
Interface for searching MEDLINE, the online index of biomedical journal article citations from 1950 to present. Premiere database of medical literature.
Free resource. Off-campus access to UAB licensed full text requires Blazer ID & password.
See related Research Guides: PubMed via LHL
and Making the Most of My NCBI
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals.
1983 - present.
Covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
1952 - present.
Subjects: African American Studies
, Communication Studies
, Honors College
, Justice Sciences
, Political Studies
, Public Administration
, Social Work
, Women's Studies