OneSearch is the catalog and search tool for the UAB Libraries collections. Use OneSearch to search for both print and e-books, journals, online journal articles, digital collections, technology equipment, and newspaper articles. OneSearch has been configured to provide recommendations about UAB Librarians and research guides as you search.
Search millions of our resources, including print books, print and e-journals, articles, media, maps, and more, but does not search everything to which UAB Libraries provides access.
Search the actual holdings of UAB Libraries, including books, e-books, digital repository, and journals but does not search for individual articles, websites, etc.
Search articles from databases indexed by Primo. Search most, but not necessarily all, databases at once.
Search just those items placed on course reserve by the professor.
From the results page, you will have several options. You can refine your search results using Facets (or limiters) along the left side of the page. Currently the default results list allows you to see only items the UAB Libraries have access to in full. If you'd like to expand your search beyond these borders, click on Expand My Results at the top of the Facets. This will allow you to see articles, not books, that are not currently owned/accessible to UAB Libraries.
You may select one of the following facets: availability (full-text online/available in the library), library, resource type (ex: articles, books, dissertations, etc.), author/creator, subject, date, journal title, and language.
From the actual record of the item, you will see ways to SEND TO, LOCATE IT, VIEW IT, or GET IT.
SEND TO: gives options for exporting, citing, permanent linking, printing, and/or emailing the record.
LOCATE IT: for items in print, this shows the location and call number of the item.
VIEW IT: this appears for electronic items, giving you the link to the item.
GET IT: this option will appear if you have located material available for Interlibrary Loan.
The OneSearch can help you find what you are looking for, but the search methods can differ from the Classic Catalog many of us are used to. Here we hope to help you find the shortest path to the information you want.
To find a specific book title or author there are a few ways to get to the item you are looking for. You can, of course, search for the title and use the filters to narrow down your results, but here are some other options to find a specific title as quickly as possible.
Select Search Field
Click on "Any field" to search by one of several different factors. For this area, the choices include: title, author/creator, subject, ISBN, ISSN, course name, course instructor, course ID, course department.
You may also choose whether you want the system to search for your exact word (is/exact), includes one or all of the words you type (contains) or search for something that begins with the words you type in (starts with).
Select Material Type
Click on "All Items" in the drop down menu to select a particular material type. Options include: books, articles, journals, conference proceedings, images, audio visual, scores, dissertations, and research datasets.
Select Language
Click on "Any language" to select a specific language. At the moment, the options include: English, French, and German.
Select Publication Date
Click on "Any year" to select your publication timeline preference. You can specify a particular date or choose the last 2, 5, 10, or 20 year span.