Skip to main content

CS 499: Computer Science Senior Capstone: Find Sources

Find Items

Publisher packages are tools for searching the literature by a single publisher.

  • ACM Digital Library
  • IEEE Xplore
  • Springer Link
  • Science Direct
  • Wiley Online Library

Library databases are tools for searching the literature from many publishers.

  • Scopus
  • Compendex 

Library catalogs are tools for searching for books held by the UAB Libraries or libraries worldwide.

  • OneSearch
  • WorldCat

Google Scholar is a tool for searching scholarly literature available on the web.

Get Items

Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.

Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.

Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.

Publisher Packages

ACM Digital Library is a tool for searching content published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).


Follow the instructions below to export references from ACM Digital Library to EndNote:

  • Perform a search then click on the title to display the record.
  • Click on the export citation button (#1).

NOTE:  To export multiple items at the same time, check the boxes then click on the export citations button.

  • Select EndNote as the format (#2) then click on the download button (#3).

IEEE Xplore is a tool for searching content published by the IEEE Computer Society.


Follow the instructions below to export references from IEEE Xplore to EndNote:

  • Perform a search then click on the title to display the record.
  • Click on the download icon (#1), choose to include the citation and abstract (#2), select RIS as the output format (#3), and click on the download button (#4).

NOTE:  To export multiple items at the same time, check the boxes (#1), click on export (#2), select the citations tab (#3), choose RIS as the format (#4) and to include the citation and abstract (#5), and click on the export button (#6).

Springer Link is a tool for searching content published by Springer.


Follow the instructions below to export references from Springer Link to EndNote:

  • Perform a search then click on the title to display the record.
  • Click on cite article button (#1) and select .enw for EndNote as the format (#2).

Science Direct is a tool for searching content published by Elsevier.


Follow the instructions below to export references from Science Direct to EndNote:

  • Perform a search then click on the title to display the record.
  • Click on export (#1) and select export citation to RIS (#2).

NOTE:  To export multiple items at the same time, check the boxes (#1), click on export (#2), and select export citations to RIS (#3).

                   

Wiley Online Library is a tool for searching content published by Wiley.


Follow the instructions below to export references from Wiley Online Library to EndNote:

  • Perform a search then click on the title to display the record.
  • Click on tools (#1) and select export citation (#2).

Library Databases and Catalogs

Scopus is a tool for searching scientific literature from many publishers.


Below are tips for searching Scopus:

  • Boolean Operators – enter in lowercase or uppercase letters
             AND         Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             AND NOT   Use to find the first term but not the second term

  • Truncation – automatically finds plural from singular and applies word stemming and variant spellings
              *                       Use to replace multiple characters anywhere in the term
              ?   Use to replace a single character anywhere in the term

  • Proximity
             " "                Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
             PRE/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in order given
             W/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in any order

Follow the instructions below to export references from Scopus to EndNote:

  • Perform a search in the database.
  • Check the boxes next to the items to be exported (#1) then click on export (#2).

  • Select RIS format (#3), specify the information to be exported such as the abstract (#4), and click on the export button (#5).

NOTE:  To export one item at a time, click on the title to display the record then click on export.

Compendex is a tool for searching engineering literature from many publishers.


Below are tips for searching Compendex:

  • Boolean Operators – enter in lowercase or uppercase letters
             AND                  Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             NOT   Use to find the first term but not the second term

  • Truncation – automatically applies word stemming unless searched as phrase or turned off
              *                       Use to replace multiple characters anywhere in the term
              ?   Use to replace a single character anywhere in the term

  • Proximity
              " "        Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
              ONEAR/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in order given
              NEAR/n   Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in any order

Follow the instructions below to export references from Compendex to EndNote:

  • Perform a search in the database.
  • Check the boxes next to the items to be exported (#1) then click on the download icon (#2).

  • Select My PC as the location (#3), choose EndNote as the format (#4), specify whether or not to remove the selected records after download (#5), and click on the download button (#6).

NOTE:  To export one item at a time, click on the title to display the record then click on the download icon.

OneSearch is a tool for searching multiple library resources using one interface.

 

 


Follow the instructions below to export references from OneSearch to EndNote:

  • Perform a search in the resource.
  • Click on the add icon next to the items to be exported (#1).

  • Click on the favorites icon to display the items to be exported (#2).

  • Select the items (#3), click on the actions icon (#4), and select export RIS (#5).

  • Click on the download button (#6).

NOTE:  To export one item at a time, click on the title to display the record then click on the export RIS button.

WorldCat is a tool for searching library catalogs around the world.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
 
WorldCat.org >>


Items not held by the UAB Libraries may be requested from other libraries by clicking on the interlibrary loan button.


Follow the instructions below to export references from WorldCat to EndNote:

  • Perform a search in the resource.
  • Click on the save button below the items to be exported (#1) then click on my items (#2).

  • Click on the cite button (#3).

NOTE:  To export one item at a time, click on the title to display the record then click on the cite button.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a tool for searching scholarly literature available on the web.

Google Scholar Logo

 

Below are search tips for Google Scholar:

  • Boolean Operators – enter OR in UPPERCASE letters
             AND                  Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results   [default operator]
             OR   Use to find any of the terms and to get more results
             –   Use to exclude the term from results

  • Field Operators
             author:             Use to search by author   [author:"n miloslavskaya"]
             site:   Use to search within a specific website [site:google.com] or domain type [–site:edu]

  • Word Order – first word ranked higher than second word and so on

  • Truncation – automatically applies word stemming unless searched as phrase

  • Proximity
              " "                     Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase
              *   Use as placeholder for term in a phrase   ["internet of * things"]

  • Advanced Search – specify how the terms should be searched, refine by author or source, and limit by date

Google Scholar may be customized to export references to EndNote.

Follow the instructions below to customize the settings:

  • Click on the options menu (#1) and select settings (#2).

  • Under bibliography manager, choose show links to import citations into (#3) and select EndNote (#4) then save the setting (#5).


Follow the instructions below to export references to EndNote (must be done one at a time):

  • Click on import into EndNote below the result.

Google Scholar may be customized to find full text available through the UAB Libraries.

Follow the instructions below to customize the settings:

  • Click on the options menu (#1) and select settings (#2).

  • Click on library links (#3) then search for UAB Libraries (#4), check the box next to full text @ UAB (#5), and save the setting (#6).

NOTE:  Steps above may be repeated for WorldCat (Open WorldCat - Library Search).


Follow the instructions below to check for full-text access through the UAB Libraries:

  • Look for full text @ UAB link next to or below the result.

Don't see library link for some results.  Click on expand icon and look for Get it @ UAB.

  • Click on the link to check for UAB holdings information.

Google Scholar may include different versions of research papers so it is important to know which version is being used as a source. 

Eprints are digital versions of research papers that are accessible online and include preprints, postprints, and published versions.

Source:  Indiana University Bloomington. (n.d.). Open scholarship: What is a preprint/postprint
version of a publication? Retrieved from https://openscholarship.indiana.edu/oa-faq#q5


Preprint = Draft of a research paper before peer review and publication in a journal

VIEW PREPRINT

Postprint = Draft of a research paper after peer review but before publication in a journal

VIEW POSTPRINT

Published = Final version of a research paper published in a journal

VIEW PUBLISHED

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer