Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with Primary Materials
Academic Video Online
Videos covering anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers
Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
American Historical Periodicals Series 1-5 Digital Archive
Primary sources from the American Antiquarian Society on the history of America from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Four primary source collections on gender and sexuality, LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, and policy studies.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (Proquest History Vault)
Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom.
1898 - 1996.
Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
NAACP Papers (Proquest History Vault)
Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues.
1909 - 1972.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Books, monographs, newspapers, photographs and more, published during the nineteenth century. Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
A comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch; includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
Websites for Primary Research
The internet holds a burgeoning treasure trove of sites for primary research. When searching, keep a few key things in mind.
- Evaluate the source - always evaluate the site for authority, accuracy, objectivity, and currency to make sure the information at the site can be validated. More information and a checklist for evaluation can be found here, http://uab.libguides.com/EIS
- If searching in Google, be sure to narrow your search by domain (to weed out the commercial sites)
- Going to the "advanced" search option in Google gives you the opportunity to choose your domain, including .edu, .org, or .gov (universities, organizations and US government agency sites, respectively
- Almost anything is always better than HTML. Meaning, finding the digitized original copy of the document, picture, etc is much better than finding an html document that someone merely typed in. While html is better than nothing, it's always best to try to find the original so that you can check for accuracy.
Historical Newspaper Sources
The following is merely a small sampling of the newspapers available to you either through library subscriptions or openly available through the Web. New digitized collections are popping up all the time, so please check back from time to time to see if any have been added. If you have any questions about particular newspapers, please don't hesitate to ask.
American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)
Digitized images of over 1200 American magazines and journals published between 1740 and 1940. Supports a range of subject areas and includes full-text searching.
LexisNexis (now Nexis Uni)
Newspapers from everywhere; includes Chronicle of Higher Education and student newspapers.
NewsBank Birmingham News Collection
Birmingham history through the current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
NewsBank Access World News Research Collection
Access to international, national and local newspapers from more than 12,000 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories; includes the Birmingham News.
U.S. and international newspapers.
1988 - present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
14 historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers
University of Michigan 'Making of America' Journal Collection
Includes the following:
American Jewess 1895-1899 (hosted on behalf of the Jewish Women's Archive)
Appleton's 1869-1881 (2 series)
Catholic World 1865-1901
DeBow's 1846-1869 + 1952 index (3 series)
Garden and Forest 1888-1897 (hosted on behalf of the Library of Congress)
Journal of the United States Association of Charcoal Iron Workers 1880-1891
Ladies Repository 1841-1876 (3 series)
The Old Guard 1864
Overland Monthly 1868-1900 (2 series)
Princeton Review 1831-1882 (3 series)
Southern Literary Messenger 1835-1864 + 1936 Contributor index
Southern Quarterly Review 1842-1857 (3 series)
Vanity Fair 1860-1862
The Valley of the Shadow
Civil War era newspapers from Virginia