Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding the full text of articles can be a challenge. This page explains how to do so:
- If you start with a citation
- If you are working in a database like PubMed
- If UAB does not license the article or has it in print only (ILLIAD)
- If UAB does not have the article online (ILLIAD)
Get Articles UAB Does Not Have
Take a moment to create an account in Illiad and you will be able request articles that we do not have directly through the Full Text@UAB Libraries button.
Just choose Request article from Lister Hill Library and the article information will auto populate the Illiad request form.
Starting with a citation
There are several ways to get to the full text of articles. If one method doesn't lead to the full text, try another.
- Copy the exact article title or PMID into the PubMed Search box on the left. Then use Full Text@UAB Libraries to get full text.
- Try Scopus. Put the title in quotes. Then click on Full Text@UAB Libraries.
- Check the E-Journals list to see if LHL has the journal online.
- Check with a librarian.
- If no full text is available, request the article from ILLIAD
Starting in a database
Look for this button when you're in a database like PubMed, CINAHL or Scopus.
When you find a citation or reference to a specific article, Full Text@UAB Libraries supplies the best path to the content:
- Full text of the article if we have it
- Google Scholar to see if there is a free version
- Link to Illiad to request the article if we do not have it