Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Start: Country/Culture Overviews
E-HRAF World Cultures
Covers all aspects of culture and social life (economy, history and cultural relations, family and kinship, sociopolitical organization, and religion).
- Choose Browse CULTURES from the database homepage
- Choose the by Country tab to choose your country and view related cultures.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias covering a wide variety of specialties, such as small business, endangered species, popular culture, controlled substances, alternative medicines, and multicultural America.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others.
Country/Culture Overviews in Reference Books
Use these reference books to find introductions to various countries.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures Describes more than 1,500 global cultures.
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E53 1991 (1st floor)
Publication Date: 1991
The Europa World Year Book Detailed country surveys containing analytical, statistical, and directory information. Political and socio-economic focus.
Call Number: JN 1 .E85 (latest edition shelved at Reference Desk, 1st floor)
Publication Date: Published annually
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2000
Country/Culture Information on the Open Web
The websites below were written by experts in the field and are authoritative sources.
Be cautious when using any websites besides these.
Maps locations and numbers of speakers of twelve languages commonly spoken in the United States. In the map, you can narrow the speakers by language.
This catalog provides access to information about thousands of languages
Information Literacy Coordinator & Liaison to English