Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HC 111: Engineering Design (Honors Seminar): Home

Get Help

Contact the STEM Librarian to get help.

Email (jmlong@uab.edu), phone (205 934-6364), or ask for me at HUB Desk (lower portion is reference desk).

Chat with librarian by selecting Mervyn H. Sterne Library (can ask for me).

Schedule appointment based on my availability or request consultation based on your availability.

Get Items

Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.

Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.

Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.

OneSearch

OneSearch is a tool for searching multiple library resources using one interface.

Perform a basic or advanced search and limit the results by resource type (such as books, book chapters, and articles) and by availability (held by library is print format and available online is electronic format).

eBook Collections

eBook collections are tools for searching online books for reference and background information.

Searchable online library of full-text content from different publishers. Contains books, textbooks, handbooks, manuals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, conference proceedings, and regulatory information.

Searchable online library of full-text content from McGraw-Hill. Contains books, textbooks, handbooks, study guides, exam prep, and code commentary.

Library Databases

Library databases are tools for searching the literature from many publishers (view all databases).

Foundational database with core journals covering the multidisciplinary literature.

Comprehensive database covering the engineering literature.

Comprehensive database covering the sciences (includes engineering), social sciences, and humanities literature.

Comprehensive database covering the sciences (includes engineering), social sciences, and humanities literature.

Comprehensive database covering the biomedical literature.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a tool for searching scholarly literature available on the web.

Customize library links using the settings menu to find full-text available through the UAB Libraries.

Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND = find all terms and get fewer results

OR = find any of terms and get more results

NOT = find first term but not second term

Truncation

robot* = replace characters at end of term (robot, robots, robotic, robotics, etc.)

Proximity

"internet of things" = find terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ι Contact Us ι Disclaimer