Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HC 317: Bacterial Symbiosis: Finding Sources

Research Help

Schedule an appointment to get help from a librarian with the research process.

Search Strategies

Strategies below may be used to search for the terms describing your topic.

Boolean Operators

     AND        find all of the terms
     OR          find any of the terms
     NOT        find first term but not second term

Truncation

        *            find all terms starting with root

Proximity

        " "          find terms as a phrase

wolbachia AND (mosquito* OR aedes) AND (steril* OR "cytoplasmic incompatibility")


(enlarge image)

Find Full Text

Article linker may be used to determine if full text is available through the UAB Libraries.


DOI may also be used to determine if full text is available through the UAB Libraries.

UAB PREFIX = http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=
DOI PREFIX = https://doi.org/
DOI = 10.3389/fcimb.2019.00002

http://ezproxy3.lhl.uab.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.3389/fcimb.2019.00002

Get Items

Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.

Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.

Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.

Research Process

The research process includes steps for defining the topic, gathering background information, locating sources, evaluating sources, and citing sources.

Source:  CCBC Library. (n.d.). Research process. Retrieved from https://libraryguides.ccbcmd.edu/casey_research_challenge

Gather Background Information

Google may be used to gather background information on your topic.

Google Web Search

Search Tips

  • Use the tools menu to limit the results by date.

  • Click on scholarly articles to view Google Scholar results.

  • Evaluate any potential sources with the CRAAP Test.

Locate Sources

OneSearch may be used to search multiple library resources using one interface.

 

 

Library databases may be used to search for magazine and journal articles.


Below are recommended databases for your topic.

Selective database covering many subject areas.

Selective database covering the sciences.

Selective database covering the health sciences.

Comprehensive database covering the sciences.

Comprehensive database covering the biomedical sciences.

Google Scholar may be used to search for scholarly literature available on the web.

Google Scholar Search

Search Tip

  • Customize the library links to find full text available through the UAB Libraries.

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer