Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Do I Find Journal Articles
Electronic Journals List
Provides access to journals that UAB Libraries subscribes to or makes available through various database subscriptions.
Databases for Article Searching
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Publications covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Includes peer-reviewed journals. Content from 1940 - present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
History of Canada and the United States. Content from 1870 - present.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes full text of selected journals. Compiled by the American Theological Library Association. Content from 1949 - present.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books; includes The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history from 1450 - present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Content from 1870 - present.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Publications covering the humanities. Includes scholarly journals and specialized magazines. Content from 1980 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access to international, national and local newspapers from more than 12,000 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories; includes the Birmingham News.
Birmingham News This link opens in a new window
Birmingham history through the current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Black Life in America, 1783 - present This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the African American experience as depicted by news media; includes America’s ongoing conversation on race and historic changes; such as Barack Obama’s election, the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major
university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Updated continually. 1990 - present.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Covers the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S and Canada. Content from 1983 - present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890 - 1982 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of the most popular general-interest U.S. periodicals; reflects 20th-century U.S. history. Content from 1890 - 1982.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access to the core collection - which consists of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, all from 1990 – present, plus access to Journal Citation Reports.
Social Sciences Librarian
Subjects: African American Studies
, Communication Studies
, Honors College
, Justice Sciences
, Political Studies
, Public Administration
, Social Work
, Women's Studies