Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Primary Research
Digital Archives Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 70 primary source collections in areas including African American studies, American Indian studies, American/China trade, Colonial America, Gender studies, Women studies, etc.
AlabamaMosaic This link opens in a new window
AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.
American Periodicals, 1740 - 1940 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Archives Direct This link opens in a new window
Contains diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, maps and many other types of documents covering the history of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries from the British state’s point of view.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Four primary source collections on gender and sexuality, LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, and policy studies.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections covering topics: African American Studies; American Studies; Asian Studies; British & European History; Business & Economic History; Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies; International Relations; Latin American & Caribbean Studies; Native American Studies; and Religious Studies.
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
Covering the period 1830-1865, approximately 15,000 articles, correspondence, manuscripts, etc.and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists documenting the impact of African American activism against slavery.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Content from 1898 - 1996.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Burney Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
Documenting the American South This link opens in a new window
Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
25,000 fully searchable texts selected from Early English Books Online (EEBO). Content from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A vast eighteenth-century library—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It currently contains over 180,000 titles amounting to over 32 million fully-searchable pages. ECCO is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC).
Gilded Age, The This link opens in a new window
Primary documents covering race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage in America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes law periodicals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, trials, legal classics, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register and more.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction; includes books, journals, and volumes focusing on New York City.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. Content from 1909 - 1972.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) This link opens in a new window
Documents the "national experience"; includes the Federal Register, public laws, presidential documents, and much more.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Books, monographs, newspapers, photographs and more, published during the nineteenth century. Includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Aims to be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled, spanning over 300 years and covering the personal experiences of 1,500 women.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Seventeen primary source collections documenting 20th century far-right and left political groups in the US, Europe and Australia.
Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
All collections that UAB Libraries has access to from the Primary Sources database are listed below the search bar on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials, regional newspapers, pamphlets covering topics including the abolitionist movement, and the emancipation of slaves.
Legislative & Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications, legislative histories, bills and laws, Congressional members and committees, regulations, Congressional Record, and political news.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch; includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
Social Sciences Librarian
Subjects: African American Studies
, Communication Studies
, Honors College
, Justice Sciences
, Political Studies
, Public Administration
, Social Work
, Women's Studies