Skip to main content

Making the Most of My NCBI: Using Delegates to Manage your Bibliography

Authors: How to Appoint a Delegate

Delegates are persons who are granted permission by My Bibliography owners to view and manage their bibliographies or their SciENcv Biosketches. Delegates can:

  • add and remove articles from My Bibliography.
  • check whether a manuscript complies with the NIH Public Access policy; add awards.
  • submit manuscripts to the NIH Manuscript Submission Service.
  • edit biosketches in SciENcv.

 Delegate invitations are initiated by My Bibliography collection owners. To invite a delegate:

1.  Go to PubMed and log into My NCBI on the upper right side of the blue navigational bar at the top of the page. Click on your user name.


2.  Scroll down the page to the delegates section and click on “Add a delegate."


4.  Enter the delegate’s e-mail address. Click the “Add a Delegate” button.

Your delegates will receive an email which they must then confirm by clicking on a link in the email. Instructions are in the box to the right.

 

To remove delegates:

  1. 1. Sign into My NCBI and click on your user name. 
  2. 2. Scroll down to the Delegate section.
  3. 3. Click the red X next to the delegate’s e-mail address.
  4. 4. A pop-up message will ask you to confirm the deletion. Click OK.

Delegates: How to Confirm your Connection

Delegate invitations are initiated by My Bibliography collection owners as shown in the box to the left. You will receive a confirmation email.

To confirm the connection:

1. Sign into your personal My NCBI account before replying to the confirmation email. ( If you do not yet have an account, register for a My NCBI here: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/myncbi/)

2. Respond to the confirmation email from My NCBI by clicking on the URL provided.

3. Click on the "Confirm Connection" button.

 

Under "Collections" you should see a link for the bibliography for which you are a delegate along with a link to your personal bibliography.  Open it to work with it.

 

Instructions and some images from: 

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK53595/#mybibliography.Sharing_My_Bibliography 

 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer