Skip to main content

School of Optometry Liaison: Welcome to Lister Hill Library

Presentations & Handouts

What's New?

New Resources at UAB Libraries

UAB Libraries is pleased to announce the addition of Elsevier’s ScienceDirect Journal & Ebook Collection!

  • ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database of peer-reviewed science, technology, and health articles and book chapters.
  • To find content use the e-journals and e-books search at www.uab.edu/lister, link to the Science Direct Freedom Collection using  ArticleLinker in databases like PubMed, or access the ScienceDirect website by searching for “S” on the databases page and selecting ScienceDirect. 
  • Find new journal titles or new backfiles  by browsing the Alphabetic list of E-journals in Optometry/Ophthalmology shown in SerialsSolutions. Titles or backfiles added through this new acquisition will be labeled as ScienceDirect Freedom Collection or ScienceDirect Backfiles.

UAB Libraries has also added access to the Embase database.

  • Embase is a biomedical and pharmacologic database with extensive international journal and conference coverage. It is useful for comprehensive or systematic literature reviews, supporting effective evidence-based practice and in drug and medical device tracking.
  • Access Embase through the UAB Libraries Databases page.
  • Questions? Ask a Librarian or contact me directly.

Suggestions for this guide

Do you have suggestions for things to add to this guide?  Please let us know! 

Email Marliese Thomas

Welcome to Lister Hill Library

The Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences (LHL) at UAB is the largest biomedical library in Alabama and serves as a Resource Library for the Southeast/Atlantic Region in the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. The library was established in 1945. It is located at 1700 University Blvd. (map) and online at library.uab.edu/locations/lister-hill.

We invite you to visit in person to study, use computers, check out books, or attend a workshop, class, or tea.  UAB wireless is available throughout the library.  

Library Floors  

Download printable floor map

Plaza Level:  HUB service desk, computers, Group Study Rooms, comfortable seating areas, test prep books and textbooks for use in library, scanners, color copier, vending machines, microwave, Keurig coffee maker and new Collaboration Station

2nd Floor: Books, quiet study space, computers

Ground Floor: UAB Graduate School, Student Financial Aid & Student Accounting 

Basement: Pre-1995 journals (Closed stacks.  Articles scanned free for UAB affiliates.  Request here.)

3rd Floor: Reynolds-Finley Historical Library, UAB Archives, Alabama Museum of the Health Sciences

4th Floor: Edge of Chaos: http://theedgeofchaos.org/  

Liaison to School of Optometry

Marliese Thomas's picture
Marliese Thomas
Contact:
Lister Hill Library
1700 University Blvd.
2nd Floor; 251 J1
205-934-2231
Subjects:Optometry
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer