Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID Library Support for Remote and Distance Teaching & Learning: Video Resources

In a situation where the university suspends on-campus activities, all courses can continue remotely. This is a set of library resources to help you continue with your coursework.

Videos

How can I adapt a planned DVD screening during a rapid shift to remote instruction?
I was planning to screen a DVD in person for my students. Now that I need to shift to remote instruction, what are my options for getting this content to my students?

You have several options:

Streaming Services

The UAB Libraries license many streaming video resources (listed below) that are available to students both on and off campus. If the video is already licensed by the Libraries, you only need to point your students to it. Your school’s or department’s library liaison can help you determine if the video you need is available through one of the Libraries’ streaming services. Your library liaison can also help you correctly link to the video in your online class.  In some instances, the Libraries may be able to license the video you need for class. You can also check commercial services such as Netflix, Apple, and Amazon Prime Video through which students can rent or stream the required videos. You can review paid screening options at JustWatch.

Zoom Screen Sharing

If the video you need is not available for streaming through the UAB Libraries or a commercial service, you may use Zoom’s screen sharing function to allow your students to watch the video from your computer screen during the synchronous online class session. US Copyright law allows you to perform some or all of a copyrighted video during an online class if the screening qualifies as a fair use. Fair use is determined on a case-by-case basis. However, to strengthen your fair use argument you should consider the following:

  1.  What is the purpose of showing the video? Is it for an education purpose related to your class?
  2. How much of the video are you showing? Are you using only the amount needed to meet your pedagogical goals, even if that is the entire film?
  3. Are you limiting the video screening to only students enrolled in the course, screening it live during class time or another scheduled time, and not recording the screening?

If you have general questions about copyright or want help with the fair guidance above, you may wish to contact Jeff Graveline, Associate Dean for Research and Instruction for the UAB Libraries.

For information on using Zoom to screen share video and audio, see Sharing Computer Sound During Screen Sharing

UAB Libraries
Video Resources

The resources listed below are either licensed by the library or approved by the librarians. For any questions, contact your subject specialist

Documentaries & Feature Films Licensed by the Library

Database Subjects Description
Academic Video Online – Health Sciences Dentistry, Health Professions, Medicine Videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers on dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science
Mango Premiere Foreign Languages Watch movies in English, Spanish, Mandarin, and Japanese; includes cultural notes. Once in your Mango language, select "Explore"
Academic Video Online Multiple Videos covering anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Docuseek 2 Multiple Free  streaming for Bullfrog & Icarus films THAT WE ALREADY OWN IN DVD; contact your librarian for titles
Grasshopper films Multiple Free  streaming of films  WE ALREADY OWN IN DVD; contact your librarian for titles

Kanopy

Multiple On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. Selection approval may take 24 hours.  Current Kanopy Titles
Kino Lorber Multiple Free  streaming of films  WE ALREADY OWN IN DVD; contact your librarian for titles
PBS Video Collection Multiple Documentary films and series in history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, education, anthropology, politics and literature.
Video Project Multiple Free  streaming of films  WE ALREADY OWN IN DVD; contact your librarian for titles
Women Make Movies Multiple Free  streaming of films  WE ALREADY OWN IN DVD; contact your librarian for titles
Contemporary Musical Theatre.com Theatre Provides access to contemporary performances, writers, and songs.

 

 Online Documentaries & Feature Films

Internet Archive Feature Films Multiple Feature, short, and silent films in the public domain
Public Domain Movies Multiple Feature films in the public domain 

 

Lectures and Instructional Videos Licensed by the Library

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy Biology, Medicine Contains narrated videos of real cadaver specimens.
Anatomy.tv Biology, Medicine 3D, interactive model of human anatomy. Includes Anatomy & Physiology Online.
JoVE Biology, Medicine Peer-reviewed scientific video journal for biology, immunology & infection, medicine, neuroscience, and the biology section of the Science Education Collection.
Lexicomp Online for Dentistry Dentistry Collection of clinical databases and decision tools.
AccessEngineering (expires 9/19) Engineering An engineering reference tool that provides access to authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information, including instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools.
Mango Languages Foreign Languages Online language-learning program that teaches actual conversation skills for over 70 languages. Listen in on casual conversations, watch movies, or sing along to a romantic pop song. 
AccessPhysiotherapy Health Sciences, Medicine Includes physiotherapy and kinesiology textbooks, multimedia, cases, and test prep/study tools
AccessAnesthesiology Medicine Provides tools for resident education & certification/recertification in pain managements, critical care, & perioperative medicine. Includes medical resources, procedural videos, & Custom Curriculum.
AccessCardiology Medicine Includes cardiology books, quick reference resources, drug monographs, videos, cases, review questions, a custom curriculum tool and patient education handouts.
AccessEmergency Medicine Medicine Includes emergency medicine textbooks, procedures, images, videos, point of care treatment answers, drug information, CME modules, & test/study tools
AccessMedicine Medicine Includes textbooks, images, video/audio, diagnostic tests, current practice guidelines, patient education information, & test/study tools.
AccessNeurology Medicine Includes neurology textbooks, multimedia, case files & test/study tools.
AccessPediatrics Medicine Covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine.
AccessSurgery Medicine Includes videos & animations of basic skills/procedures, textbooks, board review test materials, drug information, & differential diagnosis information.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos Medicine Videos demonstrating head-to-toe & systems-based physical examination techniques. Also includes test prep videos for OSCEs or Objective Structured Clinical Examinations.
BMJ Best Practice Medicine Point of care database that supports best practices in relation to patient treatment.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos Medicine Clinical information platform supporting research, learning, & point of care decision making.
NJEM Resident 360 Medicine Content targeted specifically to residents’ needs
Procedures Consult Medicine Procedure reference tool with illustrations/multimedia for each procedure.
Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery Medicine Neurosurgical content including e-books, e-journals, cases, procedures, images, audios, and videos.
LWW Health Library Medicine, Nursing Provides clinical and educational content including books, audio files, videos and case studies.
Psychotherapy.net Medicine, Psychology Streaming videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, psychology and addictions.
Advanced Practice Nursing (LWW Health Library) Nursing Competency-based content including core textbooks, integrated audio files, clinical assessment videos, and case studies for nurses already in practice or students working on their NP, MSN, or DNP.
AccessScience Sciences Includes major scientific disciplines; textbooks, multimedia, cases, and test prep/study tools

 

 Online Lectures and Instructional Videos

Lab Manual Biology Free access; individuals must register at info2.jove.com/requestaccess
Merck Manual (Professional Version) Medicine Includes general medical information, tools, drug information, news, procedural videos, quizzes and case studies.
Ignite Multiple Fast-paced, 5-minute talks on multiple topics
Khan Academy Multiple Expert-created content and resources for every course and level. 
MIT Open Audio/Video Lectures Multiple Provided by MIT OpenCourseWare, a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content.
TED Multiple Influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages.
TED-ed Multiple Hundreds of animated lessons on all subjects
© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer