Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UAB and Birmingham Research: Birmingham

This guide will show you how to find information and numbers on UAB and Birmingham

Below are some specific sources for locating information about Birmingham, Alabama.

You can also find information about UAB through our library using the subject heading "Birmingham."

Birmingham History

www.bham.lib.al.us/Archives
The Birmingham Public Library Archives contain government records, business records, maps, photographs, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, and other primary material documenting the history and development of Birmingham and its surrounding areas. Some areas of strength are local government, urban and economic development, industry and the labor movement, women's history, the Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham.

www.bplonline.org/resources/Digital_Project/default.asp
Encompasses a variety of topics about Birmingham. Includes images, maps, yearbooks, and oral histories. The collection can be browsed by decade.

library.uab.edu/research/digital-collections
The UAB Digital Collections contains information about UAB and Birmingham. Some Birmingham-specific collections are Ethnographic Films, the UAB Oral History Collection, and Pellagra in Alabama.

www.bcri.org/resource-gallery
Their Resource Gallery contains a current online exhibition. They also have an Oral History Collection.

Birmingham News

Indexes:

1993 - present: www.bhamnews.com/archives
1978 - 1993 available on microfiche (AP2 .B522 Index)

Back issues of The Birmingham News are available in at the following locations:

1895-2008: Microfilm collection, Reference Storage (ask at Reference Desk) AP2 .B522
Last 3 months: Newspaper collection, 1st floor

Current day's issue: AL.com or ask at the Circulation Desk

http://www.birminghamtimes.com/
The Birmingham Times is "the Southeast's largest black weekly."

www.bizjournals.com/birmingham
News on business and industries in Birmingham

Birmingham Numbers

www.alabamapublichealth.gov/healthstats
Health statistics for all of Alabama. You can even view County Health Profiles to see Jefferson and Shelby County profiles. All reports open in PDF.

www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/birminghamcityalabama/IPE120218
Quick facts about Birmingham. You can also search by county or Zip code.

diversitydata.org/Data/Profiles/Show.aspx?loc=192
Gives population trends in the Birmingham/Hoover area. Sponsored by Brandeis University's Heller School for Social Policy and Management. You can also view their Child Opportunity Maps for Birmingham Metro.

ucr.fbi.gov/crime-in-the-u.s
To locate data on Birmingham: 1) Choose a year; 2) Select "Crime in the US [year]; 3) Select either "Offenses Known to Law Enforcement," "Persons Arrested," or Police Employee Data"; 4) Browse by either Cities and Counties Grouped by Size or Metropolitan Statistical Areas.

www.bea.gov/regional/bearfacts/pdf.cfm?fips=13820&areatype=MSA&geotype=4.
Lists personal income and compares Birmingham/Hoover to the US.

www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-access-research-atlas
Shows where low income and no supermarket access intersect to create food deserts. Note that LI=low income and LA=low access

www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-environment-atlas
Look at number of fast food restaurants, food prices and taxes, and socioeconomic characteristics of people in an area.

For statistics about Hispanics/LatinX in Alabama, refer to the research guide Hispanics/ LatinX in Alabama

 

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer