Research Guides: Virtual Reality at UAB Libraries: VR at Sterne Library

Virtual Reality at Sterne Library

Virtual reality technologies at Sterne Library is available in the LibLab, a technology-focused library space that supports members of the UAB community in their exploration of a number of emerging technologies and tools for media development. The space currently provides access to two dedicated virtual reality workstations equipped with VIVE PRO headsets. The space is staffed and assistance using the technology will be provided as needed. Workstations may be reserved using our online system and drop-in use during operating hours is also welcome.

Please contact Emerging Technologies Librarian Dorothy Ogdon if you are interested in integrating virtual reality in an academic activity, a professional development session, a lab meeting, or another UAB-related group activity.

UAB Libraries VR Guidelines

Sterne Library Virtual Reality: Available Applications

MHSL VR Workstation 1
MHSL VR Workstation 2

3D Organon VR Anatomy
Virtual models of the body systems in the human male. This VR experience includes recorded modeling of skeletal movement including flexion, adduction, and abduction.
Buzz Aldrin Cycling Pathways to Mars
Listen and watch as a Buzz Aldrin hologram provides information on a proposed cycler method for a manned human landing on Mars.
COSM
Virtual art experience that models cellular processes and different magnifications.
YOU by Sharecare
A virtual platform that allows users to explore anatomically accurate models of the human body, it's organs, and their functions in real time.
Calcflow
Use this VR calculator to input vector equations, create models, then export shapes for 3D printing.
The Physiology of the Eye
Available with either Chinese or English narration, this experience provides information on directional terminology for describing the human body, as well as a detailed interactive model of the human eye.
Smithsonian American Art Museum "Beyond The Walls"
This high-fidelity virtual reality application provides a simulations of works from the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection.
Greenland Melting
A virtual reality application that provides information on the effects that the warming waters of the ocean have on glaciers in Greenland. Immersive views of glaciers and simulations of NASA research equipment, including ships and planes, are included in this application.
Mona Lisa: Beyond The Glass
A virtual reality application developed by the Louvre as part of an exhibition commemorating the 500th anniversary of the death of Leonardo da Vinci.
International Space Station Tour VR
This application provides immersive views of the International Space Station, and includes short videos from astronaut Samantha Cristoforetti of the European Space Agency.
Nefertari: Journey to Eternity
Immersive simulation of the Tomb of Nefertari, created from high-resolution digital scans of the original environment.

Mona Lisa: Beyond The Glass
A virtual reality application developed by the Louvre as part of an exhibition commemorating the 500th anniversary of the death of Leonardo da Vinci.
Smithsonian American Art Museum "Beyond The Walls"
This high-fidelity virtual reality application provides a simulations of works from the Smithsonian American Art Museum's collection.
Nefertari: Journey to Eternity
Immersive simulation of the Tomb of Nefertari, created from high-resolution digital scans of the original environment.
Greenland Melting
A virtual reality application that provides information on the effects that the warming waters of the ocean have on glaciers in Greenland. Immersive views of glaciers and simulations of NASA research equipment, including ships and planes, are included in this application.
Buzz Aldrin Cycling Pathways to Mars
Listen and watch as a Buzz Aldrin hologram provides information on a proposed cycler method for a manned human landing on Mars.
Calcflow
Use this VR calculator to input vector equations, create models, then export shapes for 3D printing.
The Physiology of the Eye
Available with either Chinese or English narration, this experience provides information on directional terminology for describing the human body, as well as a detailed interactive model of the human eye.
YOU by Sharecare
A virtual platform that allows users to explore anatomically accurate models of the human body, it's organs, and their functions in real time.

VIVE PRO Headset

The Virtual Reality Studio workstations are equipped with the VIVE PRO headset.