Physical Therapy: More PT Databases

PEDro, ArticleSearch, and Hooked on Evidence do NOT include the Full Text@UAB Libraries button (to access full text). Therefore, you will need to follow the step below to track down articles found in these databases: 

First, try PubMed:

• Copy and paste the article title into the PubMed search blank on the library's homepage and click Search
• If you find the article in PubMed, click on the title so that you're viewing the page with the abstract. 
• Click the Full Text@UAB Libraries button in the top right.

If the article is not in PubMed, try Google Scholar:

• Set your preferences to show Lister Hill Library holdings.
• Copy and paste the article title into the Google Scholar search blank and put quotation marks around it. Click Search.
• If you find the article on the results list, click on the Find it @ UAB link next to the citation.

If the library does not have the article you need, you can request it from another library using Illiad (interlibrary loan).

See Lister Hill Library's complete list of PT-related databases.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) is a free database provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health, which is affiliated with the University of Sydney. It is international in scope and focuses on physiotherapy-related topics. It includes 18,000+ citations to randomized control trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials in PEDro are independently assessed and rated for quality. It covers roughly 1930s to present and can be accessed through the PEDro website. There are simple search and advanced search options as well as a search help page.

AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool optimized for viewing on any device.

Guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Annie Burke-Doe, PhD, and Eric Shamus, PhD, AccessPhysiotherapy is the field’s most trusted physiotherapy resource.

AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.  

Why Is AccessPhysiotherapy Unique?

AccessPhysiotherapy provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support and reliable information designed to enhance the learning and development of the core principles of physical therapy all in one place through these exclusive interactive features:

• Leading physical therapy textbooks – Included with AccessPhysiotherapy is the definitive collection of physical therapy texts from McGraw-Hill Medical, such as the fully searchable and complete content of Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation.
• Multimedia – A robust library of narrated videos designed to teach exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions – allowing PTs to form a plan of care faster than ever before.
• NPTE Review – More than 2,200 interactive self-assessment questions designed to help users prepare for the NPTE exam, including questions from the new edition of McGraw-Hill’s NPTE.
• Anatomy & Physiology Revealed – An interactive cadaver dissection tool that students can use anytime, anywhere to gain valuable anatomical knowledge through unparalleled access to views of the entire human body, along with imaging slides and animations.
• Quick Answers – Concise outlines of common conditions and disorders at your fingertips – whether used as a high-yield review for studying or for quick reference in the clinical setting.

PTNow is APTA's new clinician web portal. It includes the following sections:

• Clinical summaries
• Clinical cases
• Tests & measures
• Clinical practice guidelines
• Cochrane Systematic Reviews
• ArticleSearch (formerly Open Door)
• PTNow blog

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCE Clinical Skills Videos contains videos demonstrating head-to-toe & systems-based physical examination techniques. Also includes test prep videos for OSCEs or Objective Structured Clinical Examinations.

ArticleSearch is an APTA members-only resource that provides access to several databases and health care literature from:

• CINAHL Complete (with some full text)
• Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (CENTRAL)
• Cochrane Methodology Register
• Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
• Health Technology Assessments
• NHS Economic Evaluation Database
• ProQuest
• Joanna Briggs Institute

As UAB students, you get access to most of these licensed resources through the Lister Hill Library website, but keep ArticleSearch resource in mind for after you graduate!