Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Official site for finding the most recent NAICS codes for an industry. Fully searchable.
Reference Librarian & Liaison to the Collat School of Business
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed US industry research reports including supply chain information on the market, historical and forecasted revenue data, operating strengths and weaknesses, analysis of external drivers, the competitive landscape and major players, and industry profit and costs benchmarks. Also includes expert summary reports and specialized reports on niche industries.
Industry Associations: Many industry associations have statistics and other publications publicly available on their web sites. Google your industry and the word "association" to help locate these.
Example industry association: National Confectioners Association
Research Local Demographics & Businesses
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application where users can quickly collect data to create thematic maps and custom reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes D&B US Company Data, SimmonsLOCAL Data & EASI Health Data.
Product & Market Research
Product and market research is not always a straightforward process. No company provides the public with a detailed descriptions of their marketing plan. Learning about the plans, requires a thorough search of the product or market by analyzing the news, business journals, press releases, and blogs to make inferences about the strategy. Use the sources below to help you conduct these searches. By using a database, you ensure that you are accessing more reliable sources and are getting the most relevant, up-to-date content. It also helps that citation generators take out some of the guesswork of citing your sources.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM® collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals and popular publications covering business; includes trade journals, monographs, economic and industry reports, and market research.