Alabama Political and Civic Leaders
Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham
Concerned Whites March in Selma in 1965
Folk History of Bear Creek, Alabama I and II
Industrial Workers in Birmingham
Integration of Birmingham Schools: Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Creator: | University of Alabama at Birmingham. Mervyn H. Sterne Library. | |
| Title: | University of Alabama at Birmingham: Mervyn H. Sterne Library: Oral History Collection | |
| Dates: | 1975-1984 | |
| Creator Abstract: | The University of Alabama at Birmingham Oral History Collection originated from recorded interviews between 1975 and 1984 under the direction of the Oral History Office in the Department of History at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. | |
| Content Abstract: | The University of Alabama at Birmingham Oral History Collection consists of 179 recorded interviews and supplentary materials associated with the interviews that focus on Southern history and culture. | |
| Identification: | ....... | |
| Extent: | .......... | |
| Language: | Materials are in English. | |
| Repository: | UAB Digital Collections | |
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Oral History Collection includes interviews recorded between 1975 and 1984 under the direction of the Oral History Office in the Department of History at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. The purpose of the Oral History Office was "to collect, preserve, and make available the oral memoirs of prominent persons who have contributed significantly to all phases of recent Alabama history." After completion of the project, the office became inactive, and in 1992 the material was added to the Mervyn H. Sterne Library collection for use by students and scholars. Mervyn H. Sterne Library provided full access to the collection and cataloged the materials in the library online catalog.
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Oral History Collection contains recorded interviews that focus on Southern history and culture. The interview topics cover Alabama political and civic leaders, civil rights in Alabama, ethnic history of Alabama, folk history of Alabama, labor history of Alabama, religious history of Alabama, history of Alabama women, historic Alabama communities, Alabama refugee experiences, and history of the University of Alabama at Birmingham. The interviews give voice to civil rights and women's suffrage workers, black and white textile mill and industrial workers, and many others sharing their stories about Alabama life and culture.
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Oral History Collection consists of 179 recorded interviews between 1975 and 1984 and documents a broad range of activities related to life in Alabama. Oral history interviews are available on cassette tapes, CDs, and in digital format, and a significant number of interviews also include typed transcriptions.
The oral histories are divided into 26 series arranged alphabetically . Series include: Alabama Military Experience (1 interview), Alabama Political and Civic Leaders (7 interviews), Alabama Rural Life (3 interviews), Birmingham Civic Leaders (5 interviews), Civil Rights in Alabama (5 interviews), Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham (3 interviews), Concerned Whites March in Selma in 1965 (1 interview), Ethnic History of Alabama (6 interviews), Folk History of Alabama (8 interviews), Folk History of Bear Creek, Alabama I and II (9 interviews), Historic Alabama Communities (3 interviews), Industrial Workers in Birmingham (60 interviews), Integration of Birmingham Schools:Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham (6 interviews), Journalism (1 interview), Labor History of Alabama (8 interviews), Life in a Segregated Society (4 interviews), Mining (5 interviews), Miscellaneous (6 interviews), Religious History of Alabama (2 interviews), The Southern Factory Worker (4 interviews), Special Events (1 interview), University of Alabama at Birmingham (4 interviews), Women in the Depression (27 interviews), Women's Childbirth History (1 interview), Women's Social History (13 interviews), and Women's Suffrage (6 interviews).
The collection documents a range of topics related to Alabama and Birmingham history including the civil rights movement, ethnic history of Alabama, Birmingham's political and urban development, and so on.
Return to the Table of Contents
Organization of Collection |
||
| Series 1. Alabama Military Experience | ||
| Series 2. Alabama Political and Civic Leaders | ||
| Series 3. Alabama Rural Life | ||
| Series 4. Birmingham Civic Leaders | ||
| Series 5. Civil Rights in Alabama | ||
| Series 6. Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham | ||
| Series 7. Concerned Whites March in Selma in 1965 | ||
| Series 8. Ethnic History of Alabama | ||
| Series 9. Folk History of Alabama | ||
| Series 10. Folk History of Bear Creek, Alabama I and II | ||
| Series 11. Historic Alabama Communities | ||
| Series 12. Industrial Workers in Birmingham | ||
| Series 13. Integration of Birmingham Schools: Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham | ||
| Series 14. Journalism | ||
| Series 15. Labor History of Alabama | ||
| Series 16. Life in a Segregated Society | ||
| Series 17. Mining | ||
| Series 18. Miscellaneous | ||
| Series 19. Religious History of Alabama | ||
| Series 20. The Southern Factory Worker | ||
| Series 21. Special Events | ||
| Series 22. University of Alabama at Birmingham | ||
| Series 23. Women in the Depression | ||
| Series 24. Women's Childbirth History | ||
| Series 25. Women's Social History | ||
| Series 26. Women's Suffrage | ||
Some of the recorded interviews have restrictions imposed by the interviewees on release forms. These restrictions are listed as part of the catalog record. In cases where there are no legal release forms, the information is available to students and scholars but cannot be cited or quoted in publications.
The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply.
Return to the Table of Contents
Index Terms |
||
| Organizations | ||
| University of Alabama at Birmingham. Oral History Office. Mervyn H. Sterne Library. | ||
| Subjects | ||
| Civil Rights--Alabama. | ||
| Alabama - Economic conditions. | ||
| Women -Alabama - Birmingham - Interviews. | ||
| Depressions -1933 - United States. | ||
| Sloss Furnace Company - History. | ||
| African Americans - Alabama -Birmingham. | ||
| Mineral industries - Employees - Alabama -Birmingham. | ||
| Labor - Alabama - Birmingham. | ||
| University of Alabama at Birmingham. | ||
| Mayors - Alabama -Birmingham - Biography. | ||
| Vietnam War, 1961-1975 - Personal narratives, American. | ||
| Women - Alabama - Montgomery -Interviews. | ||
| Cullman (Ala.) - Social life and customs. | ||
| Civil rights - Alabama - Selma. | ||
| Sloss Furnace Company - History. | ||
| Iron Workers Union (Birmingham, Ala.). | ||
| Coal mines and mining - Alabama. | ||
| Iron industry and trade - Southern States. | ||
| Textile workers - Alabama - Evergreen. | ||
| Red Cross - Alabama - Birmingham. | ||
| Jefferson County (Ala.) - History. | ||
| School integration - Alabama - Jefferson County. | ||
| Judges - Alabama. | ||
| Auburn (Ala.) - Race relations. | ||
| Church music - Southern States. | ||
| Women - Suffrage - Alabama. | ||
| Jews - Alabama -Birmingham - Interviews. | ||
| Birmingham (Ala.) - Politics and government. | ||
| Locations | ||
| Birmingham (Ala.)--History--20th century. | ||
| Alabama--History--20th century. | ||
| Genres/Formats | ||
| Sound cassette | ||
| Sound disc | ||
| Electronic resource | ||
The materials within this collection were aquired by the Oral History office. After 1992 the office became inactive,the material was added to the Mervyn H. Sterne Library collection for use by students and scholars.
[Identification of item], University of Alabama at Birmingham: Mervyn H. Sterne Library: Oral History Collection, UA 15.01, University of Alabama at Birmingham Libraries Special Collections.
Encoded by Digital Collections Staff at Sterne Library.
Alabama Military Experience |
|||||||||||||
| Emilio B. Bacate -- Vietnam, May 7, 1977 View Contents  |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Alabama Political and Civic Leaders |
|||||||||||||
| Harwell G. Davis , January, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| James Aloysius Farley, [Due to copy right issue, interview recording can be accessed within Sterne Library] | |||||||||||||
| James Elisha Folsom, December 29, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Thad Holt, October , 1974 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| John Sparkman, February, May and July , 1976 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Dorah H. Sterne, April 16, 1981 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Mervyn H. Sterne, March and April, 1973 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Alabama Rural Life |
|||||||||||||
| Maggie Lee Hayes, January 22, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Virgil Sizemore, April 27, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Leonard L. Smith, May 10, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Birmingham Civic Leaders |
|||||||||||||
| Richard Arrington, Jr. February 2, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| John T. Golden, November 2-3, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Nina Miglionico, November 7, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Roberta Morgan, March 8, 1974 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Roy D. Nichols, May 12, 1976 (tape 1) and February 9, 1977 (tapes 2-3) View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Civil Rights in Alabama |
|||||||||||||
| Clifford Judkins Durr, June 10, 1976 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Virginia Foster Durr, Winter Quarter, 1976 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| A. G. Gaston, November 17, 1976 and June 1, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Arthur J. Hanes, spring 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Charles Morgan, Jr. , [Due to copy right issue, interview recording can be accessed within Sterne Library] | |||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham |
|||||||||||||
| Mamie H. Grier, November 19, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Ollie McClung, Jr., November 5, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Abraham L. Woods, October 28, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Concerned Whites March in Selma in 1965 |
|||||||||||||
| Willita Goodson, February 9, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Ethnic History of Alabama |
|||||||||||||
| Rose Grossman Becker, February 1, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Nicholas Christu, February 3, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Reverend Eric Hayward, April 16, 1981 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Nicholai Post, January 27 and February 3, 1980 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Lillie Robertson, May 3, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Steve F. Slovensky, January 31, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Folk History of Alabama |
|||||||||||||
| Andrew Drennan , [Due to copy right issue, interview recording can be accessed within Sterne Library] | |||||||||||||
| Geneva Gaines, October 20 and November 1, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| E. L. Gibson, February 4, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Erskine Hawkins, December 31, 1986 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| A.L. Head, October 26 and November 18, 1975 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Steve F. Slovensky, January 31, 1977 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Folk History of Bear Creek, Alabama I and II |
|||||||||||||
| Bennett, John M., Major General, October 11, 1984 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Historic Alabama Communities |
|||||||||||||
| Batisse, Chief Fulton, October 22, 1987 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Daniels, Jonell, October 4, 1986 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Williams, Jo Emily, November 2, 1992 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Industrial Workers in Birmingham |
|||||||||||||
| Belgin, Harvey B., November 29, 2000 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Integration of Birmingham Schools:Civil Rights Movement in Birmingham |
|||||||||||||
| Hawley, Weldon, February 18, 2000 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Journalism |
|||||||||||||
| Hawley, Weldon, February 18, 2000 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Labor History of Alabama |
|||||||||||||
| Aguirre, Alfred, April 18, 1996 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Massey, Sarah with Jim Croft, Anna Carolina Crimm, Allan Kownslar, June 16, 2000 | |||||||||||||
| Maxey, Iva, May 8, 1996 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Life in a Segregated Society |
|||||||||||||
| Gustafson, Carroll, June 4, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Mining |
|||||||||||||
| Gustafson, Carroll, June 4, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Keumple, Gretchen, June 5, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Kretzschmar, Marvin, June 5, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Marx, Isaac, June 2, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Miller, Winona, June 2, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Pierce, Carl, June 16, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Miscellaneous |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Religious History of Alabama |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
The Southern Factory Worker |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Special Events |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
University of Alabama at Birmingham |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Women in the Depression |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Women's Childbirth History |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Women's Social History |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||
Return to the Table of Contents
Women's Suffrage |
|||||||||||||
| Thomson, George and and Louise (Thomson) Whalin, June 10, 1997 View Contents |
|||||||||||||