The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology by
This book offers clear, up-to-date guidance on how to report cytologic findings in cervical, vaginal and anal samples in accordance with the 2014 Bethesda System Update. The new edition has been expanded and revised to take into account the advances and experience of the past decade. A new chapter has been added, the terminology and text have been updated, and various terminological and morphologic questions have been clarified. In addition, new images are included that reflect the experience gained with liquid-based cytology since the publication of the last edition in 2004. Among more than 300 images, some represent classic examples of an entity while others illustrate interpretative dilemmas, borderline cytomorphologic features or mimics of epithelial abnormalities. The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology, with its user-friendly format, is a "must have" for pathologists, cytopathologists, pathology residents, cytotechnologists, and clinicians.
The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology by
The previous edition of The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology provided important updates and advances in the practice of thyroid cytopathology. It was inspired by new developments in the field of thyroid cytopathology since the publication of the first edition in 2010. These included revised clinical guidelines for the management of patients with thyroid nodules, the introduction of molecular testing as an adjunct to cytopathologic examination, and the reclassification of the non-invasive follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma as non-invasive follicular thyroid neoplasm with papillary-like nuclear features (NIFTP). This new third edition provides updates to the current reporting terminology and diagnostic criteria, including new information on ancillary molecular testing, as well as imaging findings and clinical management. This book provides a more unified approach to diagnosing and reporting thyroid FNA interpretations. It simplifies the reporting structure by settling on just one name for each of the six categories and aligning terminology with the most recent classification of thyroid tumors by the World Health Organization. Written by experts in the field, The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology, Third Edition aims to inspire advances in thyroid cytopathologic diagnosis and the betterment of patients with thyroid nodular disease. It serves as a reference guide not just for pathologists, but also endocrinologists, surgeons, and radiologists.
Cytology: Diagnostic Principles and Clinical Correlates by
Concise yet comprehensive, Cytology: Diagnostic Principles and Clinical Correlates is a practical guide to the diagnostic interpretation of virtually any cytological specimen you may encounter. This highly useful bench manual covers all organ systems and situations in which cytology is used, including gynecologic, non-gynecologic, and FNA samples, with an in-depth differential diagnosis discussion for all major entities. As with previous editions, the revised 5th Edition focuses on practical issues in diagnosis and the use of cytology in clinical care, making it ideal for both trainee and practicing pathologists. Uses easy-to-read, bulleted text to provide a quick review of key differential diagnoses, indications and methods, cytomorphologic features, clinical pearls, and tissue acquisition protocols for specific entities. Includes coverage of patient management in discussions of pertinent clinical features and emphasizes clinical correlation throughout. Examines the role of immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, and molecular biology in resolving difficulties in interpretation and diagnosis. Features more than 550 full-color illustrations that provide a real-life perspective of a full range of cytologic findings. Discusses hot topics such as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, the latest Bethesda System classifications/terminology, new techniques, and new adjunct tests. Provides an in-depth analysis of common diagnostic pitfalls to assist with daily sign-out and reporting. Includes a video on how to perform fine needle aspiration biopsy, from the patient interview and precautions to demonstration of techniques. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Histology for Pathologists by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Filled with more than 1,000 images, the latest edition of this award-winning comprehensive classic--written by anatomic pathologists for anatomic pathologists--has been updated with new information on surgical principles and techniques. Like previous editions, the book is designed to bridge the gap between normal histology and pathologic alterations. Now featuring the latest developments and advances made since the previous edition five years ago. Unique among pathology textbooks in using human--as opposed to animal--tissues for discussions on histology. Essential reading for all anatomic pathologists, and particularly helpful for pathology residents throughout their training. Chapters and sections organized by biological system as well as body region. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Manual of Surgical Pathology by
Offering complete, practical guidance on the evaluation of the surgical pathology specimen, the Manual of Surgical Pathology concentrates decades of experience from the faculty and staff of one of the busiest and most respected pathology departments in the world. From a specimen's arrival in the department to preparation of the final report, you'll find step-by-step instructions on specimen processing, tissue handling, gross dissection technique, histological examination, application of special stains, development of a differential diagnosis, and more. The fully revised 4th Edition is an invaluable reference for practicing pathologists, residents, and pathology assistants as a practical, everyday resource for learning and applying optimal specimen evaluation as well as an excellent guide for board review. Helps you find information quickly with a user-friendly design, concise paragraphs, numbered lists, and bulleted material throughout the text. Reflects the latest AJCC staging information, as well as updates throughout on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety. Offers detailed instructions on the dissection, description, and sampling of specimens, and explains the application of pathology reports to patient management. Provides procedures for new types of specimens including pulmonary image guided resections, endoscopic mucosal resection, endoscopic submucosal dissection, laparoscopic hysterectomy, or nephrectomy morcellation, vertical sleeve gastrectomy, and evaluation of breast implant capsules with a clinical suspicion of lymphoma Features dozens of illustrations that demonstrate the gross appearance of common pathologic lesions, and more than 150 tables that examine the interpretation of histochemical stains, immunohistochemical studies, electron microscopy findings, cytogenetic changes, and much more. Examines the specimens from every organ and system as well as bullets, medical devices, and foreign materials. Includes a new chapter on occupational hazards for pathologists ranging from visual and musculoskeletal problems to exposure and prevention of workplace acquired infection and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Mills and Sternberg's Diagnostic Surgical Pathology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Comprehensive and practical,Mills and Sternberg's Diagnostic Surgical Pathology, 7th Edition, presents advanced diagnostic techniques for differential diagnosis of the surgical specimen and the latest information on all currently known diseases. Led by Drs.Teri A. Longacre, Joel K. Greenson, Jason, L. Hornick, and Victor E. Reuter, a virtual "who's who" of experts in the field provide authoritative guidance on the diagnostic evaluation of every type of specimen from every anatomic site. Visually stunning and thoroughly up to date, this classic two-volume reference is a must-have resource no matter what your level of training or expertise. Covers virtually all diseases seen by surgical pathologists, grouped anatomically and focused on differential diagnosis for each type of specimen. Emphasizes practical, real-world guidance that mimics a personal consultation with expert colleagues, offering the authors' personal approaches to biopsy evaluation throughout. Includes significant updates in key areas of the field, particularly in immunohistochemistry and molecular pathology. Features more than 4,500 full-color illustrations, each color-balanced to dramatically improve image quality. Incorporates updated World Health Organization (WHO) terminology regarding tumor diagnosis. , Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s);such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook; powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Quick Reference Handbook for Surgical Pathologists by
This book contains a compilation of high-yield, at-a-glance summaries in quick reference format for various topics that are frequently encountered by pathologists in the daily practice or on the boards. The focus is not organ-based histologic criteria, but rather everything else that goes into pathologic diagnoses but is difficult to keep committed to memory. The emphasis is on immunohistochemistry, special stains, grading systems, molecular markers, tumor syndromes, and helpful clinical references. Also included are morphologic summaries that encompass high-yield material cutting across all organ systems, such as an illustrated guide for microorganisms, tumor differentials, and an illustrated glossary of pathologic descriptors. The book has a unique format in that the information is presented primarily in tables and diagrams accompanied by brief and to-the-point explanatory text. The guiding principle was to boil the information down to the essentials but with just enough commentary to be accessible to a newcomer to pathology and to serve as a quick reference to a practicing pathologist. In the 7 years since its initial publication, there have been considerable advances in surgical pathology, particularly immunohistochemical stains, molecular diagnostics, and histologic grading schemes. In the second edition, the content has been thoroughly updated to incorporate these developments, while retaining the overall scope and concise format of the first edition. In addition, the reader will find summaries for many new topics as well as multiple new cartoon illustrations and diagrams.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology - 2 Volume Set by
For over 60 years, residents and practicing pathologists have turned to Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology?for definitive guidance on every aspect of the field, delivered in a readable, easy-to-digest, and engaging manner. In the two-volume 11th Edition, a dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities. Provides comprehensive coverage of the clinical presentation, gross and microscopic features, ultrastructural and immunohistochemical findings, prognosis, and therapy for virtually every pathologic lesion. Presents content now grouped in sections corresponding to organs and systems, making disease entities easier to locate. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of the latest disease classifications, molecular biology and pathology, immunohistochemistry, genetics, prognostic/predictive markers, and more - all highlighted by more than 3,000 full-color illustrations of commonly seen pathologies. Showcases the knowledge and expertise of an innovative new author team: prolific author John R. Goldblum, MD (GI pathology, soft tissue tumors); Laura Lamps, MD (hepatobiliary, endocrine tumors, infectious disease); Jesse McKenney, MD (GU/GYN, soft tissue tumors); and Jeff Myers, MD (pulmonary, pleural, mediastinum); accompanied by a select list of subspecialty contributors. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
To view the full list of Pathology E-Books UAB subscribes there are several options
In the catalog:
E-Book Platforms:
The design of this page was partly adapted from Research: By Course, Subject, or Topic, by University of Arizona Libraries, © 2020 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.