Library databases may be used to find articles in scientific journals.
Ask a question to get help from a librarian with researching a topic, citing your sources, or using a citation manager.
Schedule an appointment to get help from a librarian with researching a topic, citing your sources, or using a citation manager.
Courier service allows students to request materials be moved between Lister Hill Library, Sterne Library, and the remote storage facility in the 801 Building.
Document delivery service sends students electronic copies of articles from the UAB Libraries print journal collection.
Interlibrary loan service enables students to borrow materials not available at the UAB Libraries from other libraries.
Web of Science is a collection of databases which includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering scholarly literature in the sciences from 1990 to the present.
Web of Science is a collection of databases which includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering scholarly literature in the sciences from 1990 to the present.
Topic field searches for the term(s) in the title, abstract, author keywords, and keywords plus.
Document types may be used to find research and review articles.
Citations highest first may be used to find seminal and important articles on the topic.
Phrase "we investigated" indicates that this is probably a primary research article.
Export button may be used to send the result(s) to a citation manager.
Below are search tips for Web of Science.
| AND | Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results [default operator] | |
| OR | Use to find any of the terms and to get more results | |
| NOT | Use to find the first term but not the second term |
| * | Use to replace multiple characters in the term | |
| ? | Use to replace a single character in the term | |
| $ | Use to replace zero or one character in the term |
| " " | Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase | |
| NEAR/x | Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (x) [default is 15 words] |
Scopus is a database covering scholarly literature in the life, health, physical, and social sciences from 1960 to the present.
Scopus is a database covering scholarly literature in the life, health, physical, and social sciences from 1960 to the present.
Document type may be used to find research and review articles.
Cited by highest may be used to find seminal and important articles on the topic.
Phrase "we assessed" indicates that this is probably a primary research article.
Export button may be used to send the result(s) to a citation manager.
Below are search tips for Scopus.
| AND | Use to find all of the terms and to get fewer results [default operator] | |
| OR | Use to find any of the terms and to get more results | |
| AND NOT | Use to find the first term but not the second term |
| * | Use to replace multiple characters in the term | |
| ? | Use to replace a single character in the term |
| " " | Use to find the terms next to each other in the order given as a phrase | |
| PRE/n | Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in order given | |
| W/n | Use to find the terms within a specified number of terms (n) in any order |