Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Handbooks

What's in This Guide?

Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Codes, Specifications, and Standards

Databases

Full Text Journal Databases

Current News Sources

Professional Organizations

What are engineering handbooks?

Handbooks condense, often into one volume, an enormous amount of information on a given field of knowledge. In addition to descriptive text, handbooks include definitions, formulas, diagrams, and bibliographic references to more comprehensive information sources. There are several current engineering handbooks in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor and in the Circulating Collection on the 3rd floor, as well as some available online.

General Engineering

CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables. TA 151 C76 2004

Engineers' Data Book, 4th edition, 2012

Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering Handbook, 4th edition, 4 vols. Ref R 856 B513 2015

Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook, 2000

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers, 5th edition. Ref TA 151 S8 2004

Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering. TH 880 H358 2009

Handbook of Environmental Engineering, 5 vols. Ref TD 170 H37 2004

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering Handbook, 2nd edition. Ref TK 145 E354 1997

Computer Science and Engineering Handbook. Ref QA 76 C57315 1997

Materials Science and Engineering

ASM Handbook.  We have access to the complete multi-volume ASM Handbook (first and second series) through Knovel.  To see a list of the available volumes

  • Go to Knovel and Search for "ASM Handbook" and
  • On the search results page, select Books/Text and Books:

Composites Engineering Handbook, 1997

Materials Science and Engineering: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools, and Applications, 2017

© UAB Libraries ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer