To find guidelines in:
PubMed: After conducting a search, results can be limited to "Practice Guidelines" by applying this filter from the "Article Types" limit to the left of your results. You can also add to your search string: "practice guidelines"[pt] AND jsubsetn[All fields]
- (if you want to restrict to just nursing journals).
CINAHL: After conducting a search, results can be limited to "Practice Guidelines" by applying them in the "Publication Types" filter.
Core Health Sciences Databases:
CINAHL stands for the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature and comprises over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, CE's, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, software, and more. CINAHL Guide
PubMed is the premier U.S. based index for biomedical literature and comprises over 30 million citations, from 1946 - present, from Medline, life science journals and books. It is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed Guide
Embase is a European-based comprehensive biomedical database covering 29 million indexed records from international journals. It complements PubMed with unique content with in-depth drug and medical device indexing. Embase Guide
Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality, independent evidence for health care decisions consisting of systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane Library Guide
Scopus is an interdisciplinary database covering the health sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and life sciences. It is international in scope. Scopus Guide
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and can find papers, theses, books, abstracts, articles, citations, and working papers that can be difficult to find. Google Scholar Guide
Subject Specific Databases:
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-based Practice Database: Evidence-based practice content covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties.
Lippincott Nursing Advisor: Database covering clinical information for nurses.
UpToDate: A clinical information tool of peer-reviewed, fully-referenced, and illustrated topic reviews. Includes related charts, x-rays, photographs, movies, and Medline abstracts.
PsycINFO: Has content from abstracts, citations, books, book chapters, and journals focused in the behavioral sciences and mental health subjects.
TRIP Database: A clinical search tool for finding evidence-based practice information.
NAHRS Nursing Resources Wiki: (Free Online Resource) A collaborative project by members of the Nursing and Allied Health Resource section of the Medical Library Association. The content includes databases, e-books, e-journals, and websites related to nursing and allied health disciplines.
ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education.
