Research Guides: EPR 594: Introduction to Research Design: Sources

Databases Provided by UAB LIbraries

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents and journal literature on education; sponsored by the US Department of Education.
OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reports covering education from preschool to college; includes technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, policy. Replaces Professional Collection. Content from 1980 - 2013.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

See related Research Guide: Dissertations and Theses
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and reports for professional educators.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
News dedicated to covering colleges and universities, with articles by experts in higher education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of periodicals in economics, math and science, the humanities, and social sciences.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Over seventy journal titles published by the APA, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. 1894-present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields; includes a broad array of social sciences journals. Content from 1983 - present.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
An archive of social science data for research and instruction. See related Research Guide: ICPSR
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of more than 690 journals in communication studies and closely-related disciplines, plus full text from over 300 journals. Content from 1915 - present.

Digital Archives Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 70 primary source collections in areas including African American studies, American Indian studies, American/China trade, Colonial America, Gender studies, Women studies, etc.
American Periodicals, 1740 - 1940 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Contains Federal Government Records, including presidential records, military, and FBI Files, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers, including those of SCLC, SNCC, and CORE, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Content from 1898 - 1996.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
United States Congressional legislation, the Congressional Record, and committee information.
Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
All collections that UAB Libraries has access to from the Primary Sources database are listed below the search bar on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
Three primary collections focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. Content from 1909 - 1972.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of women's diaries and correspondence, spanning over 300 years and covering the personal experiences of 1,500 North American women.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers, including New York Times; Historical Chicago Tribune; Guardian & Observer, 1821-2003; Communist Historical Newspapers; and Black Historical Newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Statistics and Reports

NCES: National Center for Education Statistics
Much US data comes from NCES and may be found on this site. Includes statistics, indicators, early childhood longitudinal studies, staffing and personnel surveys, and much more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Check the subject index for both Education and Schools. Tends to cover educational attainment of the population among other issues. Contains school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, attainment and college enrollment.
Child Care & Early Education Research
Scholarly research, policy briefs, government reports, data, and instruments. Compiles and distributes bibliographies, develops issue briefs, and synthesizes research on key topics.
Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP 2020)
Provides a taxonomic scheme to support disciplinary tracking, assessment, and reporting, usually in higher education. Can be used for fine analysis of data and contains corresponding numeric analysis. Crosswalks and database available.
NSSE: National Survey of Student Engagement
Survey on higher education student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide illustrating use of student time and engagement.
CCSSE - Community College Survey of Student Engagement
Based on the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE), one of the more prominent surveys available for use in research. Looks at retention, etc.
Minority Data Resource Center: MDRC
For comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. Studies of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race.
Minorities in Higher Education
Supplement to American Council on Education (ACE) biannual report now relying on IPEDS (more raw) data concerning minority/ethnic participation in higher education.
Division of Science Resources Statistics (SRS) - US National Science Foundation (NSF)
Statistics regarding science education, women, etc, which are not as easy to locate via NCES. Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources.
The Education Trust
Contains the 2006 Education Watch State Summaries, College Results Online, and Tools for Parents to analyze data.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
NCES product. Primary data source for higher education. Contains tables, downloadable data, and table creation functions by variables and for individual institutions. Aggregate data from Digest of Education Statistics tables might be more useful. For individual institutions, the most up-to-date information is generally available via institutional research offices within those institutions.
School District Demographics System (SDDS)
NCES product. Complied from Census data and the American Community data survey. Includes English language learners, IEP students, teachers. Has a Map Viewer and School District Profile Comparison tool. Covers multiple years. Has downloadable data.
Childstats.gov
Puts together 22 federal agency data sources. Includes developmental information, well-being indicators, emotional and behavioral difficulties, health care, family and social environment and more. Some publications note missing indicators needed for further research. May be especially useful for those interested in child development.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
Longitudinal study of 9,000 families since 1968. There is a child development supplement that focuses on children and caregivers.
Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)
Publishes national, longitudinal research and conducts key surveys in higher education. Annual publications include the freshman survey and the faculty survey. Part of the Cooperative Institutional Research Program (CIRP), regarded as the most comprehensive source of information on college students.

U.S. Census Bureau
Check the International Programs Center on this site.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer enables researchers to access the most current and comprehensive demographic information - Including over 40 billion data elements and 220 years of data, the entire US Census from 1790 to the present. Visualize data with customizable maps.
Develop reports, presentations, and graphics - Save and automatically export reports to Excel and a variety of statistical packages. Full source documentation is available for all reports and every variable links directly to information about where the data originated and how it was computed. Save projects in your personal MyExplorer account for archiving and collaboration

more...
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
Statistics on access, partcipation, efficiency, resources, literacy and attainment, and education system charateristics from over 200 countries.
TIMSS & PIRLS
Database for data construction and analysis of education around the world by Boston College. TIMSS concerns learning in mathematics and science carried out every four years at the fourth and eighth grades. PIRLS conducts reading assessments of literacy.

more...
World Bank Education Statistics Database
Use for compiling unique statistical reports for countries, country groups, and education indicators.
Eurydice: The Information Network on Education in Europe - Key Data
Key data on education in 31 countries. Databases are slow.
Childinfo.org
Basic statistics from UNICEF on several indicators including education levels for 100 countries. "The State of the World's Children" is their signature publication. Data available by country. May generate your own tables (see http://www.micscompiler.org). Data collection info at http://www.childinfo.org/mics.html

US Census Bureau – National Survey of Children’s Health

RTI International:

National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health), 1994-2008 [Public Use] (ICPSR 21600)*
National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) Parent Study: Public Use, [United States], 2015-2017 (ICPSR 37375)*

U.S. Department of Justice – Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

ICPSR (the following are examples of data sets):

US Department of Health and Human Services:

National Institutes of Health
- National Institute of Child Health and Development Study of Early Child Care and Youth Development* (ICPSR 21940, 21941, 21942, and 22361)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration – Treatment Episode Data Set
Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality – Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- National Center for Health Statistics*
- Division of Adolescent and School Health - Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)*
  - Data & Documentation
  - NYPANS

*also found in ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provided through www.library.uab.edu

Annie E. Casey Foundation – Kids Count Data Center